We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant near the West Gate”

Tulip Authentic Turkish Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 392 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

It was a really sunny day, so we sat outside, but the inside of the surprisingly large restaurant was very pleasant too. It was lunchtime, and I have to confess that it was the photograph of the lamb shank on the board that caught our eye. The inexpensive two course lunch had a good choice of starters and main courses on the menu. The three of us had a different starter each and passed them around the table, so I can vouch for the consistent good quality. We all had the same main course, you can probably guess which. As this is done to a Turkish recipe, do be aware that there is a bitter herb in the sauce for the lamb shank - if you are alright with that, it is a good choice, otherwise there are plenty of others to choose from. A really good lunch.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 893philb893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Short and sweet - I arrived in Canterbury after Hours of travel and needed something tasty.

Good service and great food. Reasonable prices.

What more do you want?

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Charlesgknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Ate here twice in June 2018 midweek. Didn't have to book.
Great menu, plenty to choose from. Prices very reasonable, and portions are very big. Staff very friendly. Will be back!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Trevez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We stopped into tulip for lunch after touring Canterbury Cathedral. Tulip has a nice lunch menu with very reasonable prices. I had the adana shish and the sucuk hellim. These were both excellent. My wife had a nice eggplant appetizer and a nice lamb dish. We have eaten Turkish food in Turkey, including in Turkish homes, and in several other countries. What Tulip offers compares well with the best. Service was friendly and efficient. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Northern_Ibis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

On a visit to Canterbury last year, we enjoyed a nice lunch so thought we would return on this visit for an evening meal and it was fantastic. We honestly thought it was the best meal we'd had for ages. The kebabs were delicious and served in a really nice way with rice and cous cous, a type of coleslaw and side salad. The staff were very friendly and served us very well, and the lady who was serving that night was so kind and listened to our tipsy ramblings about past holidays. It was a special night and we will definitely go back as soon as time allows. Would very much recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ellbee62016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tulip Authentic Turkish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tulip Authentic Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing