We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful - even nicer than expected”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carfax House

View from back
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from back
View from front Ground floor en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
View from back
View from front
Ground floor en-suite
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Kitchen diner
Kitchen diner
Sitting room
A view across the garden
The Dog and Duck . A lovely 1 mile walk across magnif
The stour river which is 10 mins walk away
The little stour on the way to the dog and duck
The Rising sun pub restaurant within 50 meters . Lovely
A view across Ramsgate marina
A view across Ramsgate main sands 20 mins away
Relax just book it
En-suite bathrrom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joyce4124
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful - even nicer than expected”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed a week at Carfax House. The inside is even nicer and roomier than the photos show. The large rainforest shower was a pleasure, especially after our long walks. This area of Kent has many very good footpaths for walkers. We were lucky because the orchards were in bloom along many of our footpaths. The back garden at Carfax House was filled with birds and beautiful bird song. We also enjoyed watching the baby rabbits. Carfax House is well equipped and we would be happy to have the opportunity to stay there again in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
David , Joyce
Thankyou for a lovely review I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay we would live to welcome you back some day. Again thanks for taking the time to send a review

Regards Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daddywarb...
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we expected”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fantastic location , no problems whatsoever . We enjoyed all of our day trips . The weather helped sun bathing in the back garden . The beer fridge was a nice touch . This is a cottage with character . Good wifi and TV . Nice log fire . We would definitely return . Thank you for a great week . Sandwich was the highlight which we were not expecting , a hidden gem . Cheers Clive and Carole

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Kitchen equipment no dishwasher
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill v
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house, well equipped and excellent location”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very nice house, with beautiful garden. All the rooms were lovely with excellent shower room and bathroom. Best equipped house I have ever stayed in, and ideally situated to visit nearby Canterbury, (for the Cathedral), Margate (for the Turner Contemporary gallery) and Whitstable with its independent shops and boutiques., not to mention the best Wetherspoons ever - a revamped cinema in Art Deco style! Lots of nice walks from the property, and directly opposite a pub with great food.
If I was forced to find a negative, it was that some of the cooking pots could do with replacing, but that only a very minor gripe, and the property is otherwise perfect and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Domin...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A TRUE HOME WITH A LOVELY GARDEN IN BEAUTIFUL LOCATION”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 28 nights with children and friends. It felt like a lovely home, we enjoyed the property as a lovely home and left feeling sad. The 'cottagey' feel of the house is not diminished by the ample space there is inside. Welcoming chocolates and wine on our arrival set the right tone - the property delivers in every way and more and after 28 nights it really did feel like we had developed a relationship with the house - it almost felt 'wrong' to leave. Thoroughly recommended in every way.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tynkerbel...
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt so at home didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house has it all in my opinion. Clean, comfortable, peaceful, everything you could need. Pretty, fully enclosed, secluded garden. Breakfast on the patio with a side order of birdsong - relaxation overload!
Carfax House is just perfect for couples or large groups. Its location is rural but within a 15 minute drive of lovely beaches and towns.
Communication with the owner was very good and any questions I had were answered speedily.
I would recommend this property and hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel and tranquil setting
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing