We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to unwind”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheCarlin...
GZ, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at the Hayloft last month. We found it to be a great base in Kent, close to Canterbury as well as the beaches of north Kent, but also within easy reach of London. We were fortunate to have some great weather that meant we were able to have plenty of outside time with a number of barbeques for visiting friends. The cottage is extremely well equipped and the very helpful owners are on-site and able to deal with any questions and offer advice on places to visit and things to do. During our stay we were able to take the children to Tenterden and a trip on the Kent and East Sussex Railway - a really quaint and fun day out. We certainly hope that we are able to return next year and would have no hesitation in recommending The Hayloft to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: By some distance, the best equipped and most comfortable cottage that we have stayed in.
Liked least: Nothing it was great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaWx
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They think of everything!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have stayed in the Hayloft 3 times, and we are still impressed. The house is clean, comfortable and has been fitted out to the highest standards. White cotton sheets, fluffy towels, spacious bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen, a generous dining area and a relaxing sitting area all make this property a wonderful holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful ambiance of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin0000...
Beziers, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best self-catering accommodation ever!”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Peaceful location, spacious, extremely comfortable, beautifully furnished, very well equipped. In short, a perfect spot for a wonderful break. We shall undoubtedly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extremely comfortable living room, wood burner and large screen TV with no noise from the kids!
Liked least: the internet connection was not good (needed as I was working most days of our visit).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamsend
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a beautiful country home conveniently located in the idyllic Kent countryside”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Hayloft is a spacious, comfortable, high-end country home in the beautiful Kent countryside. This former stable has been thoughtfully and tastefully renovated. Everything from the furnishings to the appliances and fixtures is top-quality creating an elegant but relaxing cottage atmosphere. Richard and Lindsay, the owners, are very welcoming, friendly and happy to answer any questions about the area and offer restaurant and shopping recommendations. We stayed at the Hayloft for a week in early September and it was a wonderful home away from home (Canada) and only a short jaunt into Canterbury. We also enjoyed some day trips to Dover and some of the other coastal towns. In short, top notch accomodation in a scenic and convenient location. We shall return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great!
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet79
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I recently came back from a weekend away with some girl friends for a birthday celebration and a wonderful weekend was had by all!

From the second we saw the exterior we knew it would be lovely and we weren't disappointed. Everything inside the property from the furniture to the crockery was of extremely high standard and it provided every home comfort you could possibly want. So much so, we had intended to spend Saturday in Canterbury but couldn't bear to drag ourselves away from the luxurious surroundings and dvds and board games provided!

The moment we drove out the drive, I missed it and we have already started to plan our return trip!

The five star rating this property has does not do it justice, its a 10 star by my reckoning!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing