We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thatch perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Kitchen Prepared for afternoon tea
Main Downstairs Room Facing Garden Featuring Double Sofa Bed for extra guests.
Living Room with cosy log fire
Roll Top Bath and views to garden
Master Bedroom
View from Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Inglenook Fireplace at Christmas Time
The Thatch in 1905!
Living Room in the 1960's when the cottage was a restuarant
Wickhambreaux Village Overview
St. Andrew's Church, Wickhambreaux
The Rose, Wickhambreaux
Massive Lakes only a few minutes walk from The Thatch!
Westgate Gardens, Canterbury. Only a short drive away.
Canterbury Cathedral
Ramsgate Harbour
View from upstairs to back of garden.
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mattysgir...
Mercogliano, Italy
2 reviews
“Thatch perfection”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Romantic thatch. A true step back in time. Sam the owner was attentive. Parking is an issue. Town was very cute and the pub great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dunlap, Illinois
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village and wonderful pub.
Liked least: How dirty the cottage was.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Dear Guest,

We are completely shocked and deeply upset to read this review.

The Thatch is clean and we have never had one complaint regarding cleanliness. You have to remember that this cottage is almost 500 years old. Perfection is not always possible but this is all part of the charm. We would never dream of leaving dirty dishes for our guests?!

I would like to add that you left the cottage in the most appalling state we have ever encountered upon your departure, piles of dirty dishes left in the sink, filthy bathroom, overflowing bins that could easily have been emptied etc.

The feedback on a clock and mirror has been noted. Should you have had any issues during your stay, as mentioned clearly beforehand, a simple phone call would have been all that was necessary and we would have found a solution to any problem you may have had immediately, but instead you choose to not contact us once during your stay and then write this horrible review?

I remain very confident that anyone who decides to book our wonderful cottage will look at every single one of our 5 star only reviews and can form their own opinion disregarding this highly prejudiced nonsense.

Kind regards,

Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ErnieS851
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Going back in time to how life should be.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Tatch is as homely as you can get. Right from the onset the owner made you feel very welcome, keeping in touch by email and advising on places to visit. The village is what a village should be, friendly people (even if it was just passing the time of day), fantastic pub (2mins. away) serving good homely food. Your basically 30mins drive (15mins. to Canterbury) to anywhere on the north/south coast. Howletts and Wingham animal parks are very near. We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general feel of the place.
Liked least: leaving after such a great week
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald A
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming thatch cottage”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thatch Cottage is a charming, old cottage in a picturesque village in Kent. The location is very close to Canterbury which is a must see, and it has easy access by car to coastal cities such as Dover and Whitstable. There are scenic hiking paths that go past the door and around the corner is a popular local pub.
The kitchen is fully equipped, very comfortable beds, clean, and everything we needed was provided. There is also a pretty garden behind the house.
Sam is very helpful and easy to contact. Fresh flowers and a welcome basket met us upon our arrival. A crib and high chair were produced for a young grandson and some toys provided for his use. A couple of toys were given to our grandson via Sam from a friendly neighbour! We forgot a mobile at the cottage and Sam quickly responded by mailing it on to a London address. All in all a very positive and friendly experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location for exploring Kent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$142
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing