We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem - Great jumping off point for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Much Dewchurch Cottages - Sir Charles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Much Dewchurch Cottages - Sir Charles
Much Dewchurch Cottages Open plan Lounge, Dining Area & Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Much Dewchurch Cottages - Sir Charles
Much Dewchurch Cottages
Open plan Lounge, Dining Area & Kitchen
Dining Area/Kitchen
Downstairs double bedroom
Downstairs bunk bedroom
Upstairs twin bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Views
Views
Resident bull
Sky at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pettittro...
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden gem - Great jumping off point for exploring Herefordshire”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Where to start?

Firstly, it's pet friendly which is a great plus.

The bedrooms are reasonably spacious and having a bath upstairs, a shower downstairs, and two toilets means that there are few fights for the bathroom.

The cottage comes with a freeview TV, fridge (with small freezer compartment), cooker, microwave, washer and barbecue. And wifi (new this year, I think, for the Sir Charles). You can therefore choose to cook and eat on-site, if you like.

When we arrived it was very clean and it smelt fresh. The beds were made with fresh bedding and towels were provided (something to remember for next time). The bed I slept on was very comfy.

It's about 6 miles south of Hereford so it's out in the sticks. This means quiet nights and you can see the stars when the sky is clear.

We were warmly greeted on arrival by the owner and the site manager was friendly (as were his dogs) and nearly always on site.

It's a good jumping off point for further exploration with Worcester, Hereford, Brecon Becons, Ross on Wye, Hay on Wye and mutiple big National Trust places within an hours drive. Also in Wormelow (2-3 min drive away) there is the Violette Szabo museum.

There are also a good few local pubs and other places to eat within a 10 mile radius.

Possible downsides? It's down a narrow country lane, but as long as you approach it from Wormelow / Much Dewchurch (ignore your Sat Nav if coming from Hereford you can avoid nearly all of the lane. Also you have to head out at least 5 mile for petrol and shops. Neither of these things bothered me.

It's extremely likely we will be going there again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review, we very much appreciate this. Also extra thanks for leaving the cottage just as you found it, it makes turn around so much easier - perfect guests. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Micaela & Handley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontYouKn...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in rural Herefordshire”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were looking for just a 2 nights stay to visit some family history in the area and the owner was kind enough to agree to such a short stay. Handley, the owner, met us in the suite and was very friendly and helpful. Sir Charles is one of four self catering suites that were once a well known racing stable. This is probably the most quirky design of the four but we need the space and a second bathroom. Lovely views of the surrounding countryside as you are most of the way up a gently rolling hill. A gentle 750m walk down to a delightful, friendly pub (The Black Swan is the oldest in the county I believe) and a Norman church. Convenient access to Hereford, Ross-On-Wye, and even Hay-On-Wye is within easy reach. Only caveat are the stairs which are a challenge for most (ie hauling up suitcases) and limited headroom upstairs, but as mentioned it was quirky. Wifi access is limited to the main house which is separate (and isn't advertised) but you can sometimes pick up a signal from the parking lot. Lastly, we aren't pet lovers but the property was clean and tidy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the views
Liked least: Low headroom upstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tankys
1 review
“Beautiful surroundings, lovely cottage, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We arrived on a cold Saturday afternoon and entered the cottage to discover the heating had been put on for us. Thank goodness! Hosts were wonderful and friendly. The cottage itself was an ideal space for all 5 of us, the older two children had the bedroom upstairs and it was great that they had their own space. Plenty of land for all of the children to run around and the pub down the lane was very accommodating. The baby was quite noisy as we tried to eat so out came one of the lovely ladies to keep him entertained so that we were able to eat our meal in peace. Location was perfect to visit family in the next town. We will definitely be back :-D

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey A
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed for the first time at the cottage, with the family and the family pet dog. We had a really enjoyable holiday break, we were made welcome by the owner and by the villagers at the local public house. Some pretty places to visit, we all enjoyed the shopping in Hereford. Accommodation was very comfortable. We would recommend and would go to this place again. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Cosy atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing