We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and atmosphere even for non religious people”
Review of Hereford Cathedral

Hereford Cathedral
Ranked #3 of 39 things to do in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This cathedral is steeped in history. It was friendly, if you can say that about a religious building. We came here primarily as it is a setting in Phil Rickman's Merrily Watkins chiller books. Nonetheless we enjoyed our visit as a building rather than a book setting.

By the way it is free entry and the café is worth a visit.

Thank Tattvadarzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mappa mundi"
in 284 reviews
"stained glass"
in 73 reviews
"chained library"
in 224 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 164 reviews
"weeping window"
in 43 reviews
"lady chapel"
in 26 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 72 reviews
"three choirs"
in 18 reviews
"tower tour"
in 17 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 31 reviews
"chain library"
in 36 reviews
"steeped in history"
in 18 reviews
"guided tour"
in 31 reviews
"free entry"
in 21 reviews
"lovely place"
in 22 reviews
"city centre"
in 17 reviews
"cakes"
in 23 reviews
Filter

97 - 101 of 1 675 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

With neither of us being remotely religious, after a quick walk around the interesting cathedral we decided to join in the tower tour. It was fascinating as we were able to see parts of the building not normally seen by the public, including bell ringing floor, the bells "moon door" and the magnificent views of Hereford from the tower roof. The guides were all very informative and the tour never felt rushed

Thank Knockout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abby J, Public Relations Manager at Hereford Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Our Tower Tours are very popular and we're glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

A must see cathedral - simply breathtaking from the moment you enter. The new modern stained windows have to be seen as do the strange radiators!!! The outside of the building is just as interesting as the interior!

Thank DaisySorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abby J, Public Relations Manager at Hereford Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the cathedral!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great cathedral & lots to see - don't miss the crypt & the side chapels. Some excellent stained glass form early periods to modern. A wonderful retreat from the busy 21st century. Also free of charge so please add money to the donations boxes.

Thank MerlinWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abby J, Public Relations Manager at Hereford Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Hereford Cathedral is a very interesting building and in my opinion it has a real sense of modernity about it. Some of the masonry arches have an almost geometric design to them that I have not seen before in a gothic building and the stain glass in the beautiful side chapel is 'Arts and Crafts'. The Tomb of Saint Thomas de Cantilupe stands in the North transept and is painted with a scene of the Virgin Mary and Child holding the Mappa Mundi, which can be seen at the cathedral for a charge of £6.00 including the chained library. I was also struck by the curious radiators around the cathedral that would not have been out of place at "Hogwarts"! There is a small courtyard garden which is very pretty and just right for sitting and reflecting in. Altogether a very enjoyable visit.

Thank dmunnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abby J, Public Relations Manager at Hereford Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your review - we get a lot of comments about our 'radiators'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hereford Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Hereford Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing