We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
96
283
264
137
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
283
264
137
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews broad street faded grandeur large lounge traditional hotel old fashioned buffet breakfast all you can eat trouser press free car park twin room city centre plenty of hot water visit hereford cathedral garrick character bells
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Our visit here was classed as average.As it is in the town centre there not really any decent views from any windows but the rooms are ok and the food is buffet style for all meals, which is good so you can get what you want and as much as you need. The hours for the restaurant are strange, as they spread over a couple of hours, so for us at evening meal, we went later than some and it is a very large room with lot of tables and chairs, so it seemed strange just being the two of us and maybe another couple ! The bar room is very small, but the lounge is big, but has no bar and sadly there was no entertainment. It is very handy for the shops, cafes and bars, but would we go again ? No .

Stayed: April 2018
Thank peteandmarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Not impressed at all thread bare carpets holes in certains bathroom door had a chunk out of it. The photos make it look better than what it is. Beds old and marks on them bedding was clean as was towels £70 for one night really not worth the money. Staff were plesent

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank camper334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

About sixty of us had lunch here. We had agreed a buffet format and a limited menu to keep costs down. We were late as our morning visit had gone on longer than we though. However the food was hot and everyone agreed it was delicious. We had melon or soup to start, followed by turkey or salmon with a selection of gateaux or fruit salad to finish. Turkey was good and the salmon was really lovely. Staff served the food from the buffet and were cheerful and generous with portions. Some of our members had eaten there a few months ago to try it out but cooking for about sixty is a different prospect and turned out very well.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anitacott76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

This place is OK. Very central almost opposite the cathedral and £5-6 by taxi to the station.
Old school charm as in dated and a bit old fashioned but clean with comfortable bed, good sheets and tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast is extra at £7.95 but you’re so central there’s a huge choice of cafes and coffee shops. Lovely looking 1920s cocktail bar, sadly no cocktails but maybe theres no call for this in these parts!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Exeterexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

After reading reviews about this hotel I almost never booked but I'm glad to say I booked so I could judge for myself, We arrived earlier then expected but the receptionist Nicolas John's was so nice and welcoming and said our room was ready Nicolas was very helpful and explained everything we need to know.Our room was great so comfortable and very clean .Breakfast was very good and Ahmed was very polite and took care of people they had run our of eggs but soon got some more and came to our table to applogise to my husband for the wait .all the staffwere very friendly. I will definitely be staying here again yes the hotel is dated but I loved it I like the old look and I think they are doing really well

Stayed: June 2018
Thank rita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews