We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay in a beautiful city”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Sky Penthouse

Great views!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great views!
Views out of every window!. The Sky Penthouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Great views!
Views out of every window!.
The Sky Penthouse
Elegant St Peter Street frontage
Dine in style
Welcoming beverages
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Breakfast in the sunshine
luxury furnishings, free wifi/broadband, and device chargers
Luxury super king beds.
Luxury Optimum Supima  cotton towels
Luxury 400TC 100% cotton linens
Power shower equipped bathroom.
Room plan
Garden elevation
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Winchester, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Carol M
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay in a beautiful city”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Sky Penthouse is a fabulous apartment, ideally located just 5 minutes walk from the railway station and 5 minutes walk into Winchester. Comfortably furnished, well equipped and even providing lovely extras such as a welcome bottle of fizz, chocolates and also Conran toiletries.

We enjoyed a great weekend in Winchester where there is plenty to see and a vast array of places to eat – Gordon provides great recommendations.

We would highly recommend the Sky Penthouse as a fantastic base for a Winchester mini-break. It is very likely that, like us, you will be wanting to return to relax in style, enjoy the views from the apartment and see more of the lovely city of Winchester.

Thanks Gordon, our stay at the Sky Penthouse was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, Its our aim to make the Skypenthouse a relaxing oasis in the city, and it looks like all our feedback is going that way - thanks! see you again Carol.!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitAl18...
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here as a couple for 3 nights in February 2016.

The apartment was exactly as advertised. Its on the top floor of what I think is a listed building and is served by a lift.

Its only a few minutes walk from the centre of Winchester with all its restaurants, shops, markets, museums, the cathedral etc. The apartment has its own parking space in a small car park at the rear of the building. Good job, as parking in Winchester looked very scarce. Its so centrally located that once you park you can forget about the car for the rest of your stay.

Inside its very cosy - and I mean that in a good way! Very good use has been made of the space and its actually got more room than some of the photos give the impression of. Its got all mod cons, TV, WiFi, DVD player, fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher etc. The apartment was clean, well decorated and seemed well maintained.

The owner seems very friendly and we met him one afternoon on the way out. He gave us good advice on a riverside walk we might do which we really enjoyed. In addition without asking, as nobody was arriving the day we were leaving, he offered us a late checkout and the use of the car parking space for the whole day. We thought this was a generous gesture.

In fact I can't really find any fault with any aspect of the apartment and would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Many thanks for the kind words Alan- I hope to see you again next year too!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgardiner...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spacious, modern apartment in great location”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

With friends recently moved to Winchester we needed somewhere to stay that would be close to centre of town and allowed us more space than a B&B. This apartment is perfect - 2 decent sized bedrooms, very comfy beds, good sized living and dining area and a well stocked kitchen.

We cooked on our second night which was perfect to avoid the crowds of Winchester and the kitchen had everything we needed (including a bottle of fizz to kick the evening off!)

Apartment is really well located and a great alternative to B&Bs, especially if you want more space than just a bedroom.

I didn't meet Gordon but my friend said he was welcoming and informative.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Glad you had a great time, See you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenelopeS...
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Winchester location”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a lovely long weekend staying in the Sky Penthouse - a weekend away with two best friends and all we wanted was somewhere nice (tick), where we could do lots of catching up (tick) - but the location and apartment provided much more than this. Winchester is a lovely place to wander around and we visited during the Christmas markets too - very festive but warning it was also VERY busy, so much so that we couldn't get in anywhere for lunch (literally every café and restaurant was full with 1-2hrs wait even at 1.30pm!) and couldn't book a table for dinner unless we were happy to eat at 6pm or 10pm - so book in advance if you are going to be in Winchester over this period!!!

The apartment is really lovely and comfortable - exactly as described- and Gordon is on hand across the corridor if you need any advice etc. We arrived to find a lovely chilled bottle of fizz in the fridge - very nice touch - and everything we needed was in the apartment (apart from oddly, tumblers!!! lots of wine/cocktail glasses though!).
We would definitely recommend the sky penthouse for anyone wanting to stay in the centre of Winchester - much better than a hotel as you have a lovely comfortable apartment to chill out in after a hard days shopping.
Thank you Gordon!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
Thanks Cath, Nice to have such great guests!! I'll add some tumblers, to go with the huge selection of stemware!! Winchester is indeed very busy, and there are some places to eat, that are still not totally booked so guests arriving in November and December reading this, please ask me for help! - Gordon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A
1 review
“Location location location”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Excellent location in the city and lovely views of the city! The apartment was lovely, clean and bright. A perfect place for our short stay in Winchester. We look forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing