We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My new 'bolt hole' in Winchester”
other travellers have booked this property
Watching the sun go down on your own private terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watching the sun go down on your own private terrace
You've arrived! Morning sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Watching the sun go down on your own private terrace
You've arrived!
Morning sun
Heavenly relaxation with an open fire.
Fully equipped, oak and granite kitchen.
At the end of the day.
Everything you need
Shower and steam room
Candle lit steam room to indulge in
Fine linen and towels to Hang Your Hat with
Relaxation is key
Through the looking glass
Browse in the study
Interesting features
A historical relic
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Winchester, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
521562VAF
Kalmthout, Belgium
1 review
“My new 'bolt hole' in Winchester”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Welcomed so very elegantly by Nigel and his wife. This beautiful brick and flint end of terrace cottage is both charming and wonderfully practical. A five minute walk into town from your front door to see the sights and sample the delights of several restaurants in Winchester. I brought my Terrier Cooper with me for my Christmas stay. The pretty and well lit walled garden was just perfect for him! Loved the wood burner and underfloor heating.....bit a whip really as I live and work in Africa but 'Hang your Hat' was cosy, comfortable and warm. Thank you for making me feel so welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The parking was a bit of a challenge but I parked outside during the night!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariarosa...
Pavia, Italy
1 review
“The Excellence in Luxury Accommodation”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

There's no place on earth where you can feel at home as in this cottage. Accommodation fit for kings and queens. A bliss right at the heart of Winchester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being in a very privileged place.
Liked least: I loved everything.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
will8harr...
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Where would you rather stay a hotel suite half the size and twice the price or here. What a great idea had a really great time lovely champagne, lovely welcolme as well. Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AandCTWel...
T.Wells
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very pleasant alternative to the usual run of the mill hotels”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Loved the concept and really enjoyed our stay there. Have seen it described as a hotel but not sure we'd agree. Basically a very well equipped cottage but with luxury extras such as the steam room, dressing gowns,sky, and complimentary champagne/ wine/ chocs/ tea and coffee etc.
Quiet location but quick to walk into town. The owner Nigel was very helpful and informative.
One point is that the web site for the cottage says private parking. It is not. Parking is by permit in the road (although the road outside the cottage is very narrow so nobody parked here during the day.) Nigel kindly moved his car from a spot in the adjacent road when we arrived so that we could park. We didn't move it until we left but we suspect that if you stay for longer and come and go a lot, then parking wouldn't be that easy all of the time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing