We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Winchester(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Winchester Hotel & spa(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westgate(Winchester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

31 Queens Road - Winchester(Winchester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/07
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$57
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cricketers Inn(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hannah's(Winchester)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
83
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomoff street parkinglighter breakfastbreakfast was deliciouscity centrespent nightssouth downs wayselection of teasour night staysitting areaexcellent place to staycomfortable bedwonderful staybeautiful houseminute walkbreakfast roomhigh street
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Winchester before starting our South Downs Way walk. Liz helped us with suggestions of what to see and do—and recommendations for where to eat.

Our double room was excellent. Quiet, clean, with a comfortable bed. Ensuite bathroom had an excellent shower.

Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We stayed here for the beginning of our South Downs Way walk, a beautiful house overlooking the city. We had the garden room which was very large with a sitting area, and a small patio for us to use. Nothing was too much trouble for Liz who provided us a vegan breakfast and coconut milk for our room. A really friendly homely place.

Room Tip: The garden room has its own patio with furniture.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vegantravellers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz L, Owner at Magdalen House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to have taken so long to respond to your very generous comments. I’m glad you enjoyed staying here and hope that the walk went well. I think you had some pretty good weather for it, especially if you finished on the Royal Wedding weekend. Best wishes, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Our whole experience at Magdalen House was exceptional. Immediately made comfortable by our host, Liz and our room and all the facilities were First Class. As well as our well equipped bedroom Suite, we also had exclusive use of a small, well furnished sitting room and a wet room shower room. All rooms were spotlessly clean and furnished with quality ware. Our breakfasts were delicious, well presented and included quality ingredients.
The location of this B&B is just perfect being a 'stone throw' away from the Town Centre and has on-site parking.
Many thanks Liz for making our short stay so enjoyable and memorable. We can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Conveniently located for tourists with great hospitality
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charlesm252016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz L, Owner at Magdalen House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you Charles for a very generous review. It was a pleasure to have you & N here and I’m glad you were able to enjoy all Winchester had to offer. Best wishes, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Probably one of the best B and B's we have ever stayed in. The accommodation was more of an apartment than a bedroom, with sitting room and large bathroom and unlimited storage. The views from the bedroom were across the roofs of Winchester to the Cathedral and a four minute walk brought you into the centre of the city. There is off street parking and the breakfasts can be as large or little as you want. A very friendly greeting welcomed you into the property.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was excellent didn't see the others
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank X2386OSpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz L, Owner at Magdalen House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a generous review. I’m glad you appreciated the King suite accommodation and that the breakfast choices were suitably varied. I’d like to point out to future readers that the large bathroom has a walk in shower, no bath, just in case any S Downs Way or Clarendon Way walkers were dreaming of a long hot soak! Best wishes, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We spent the night here last week, along with 4 friends, and can highly recommend. The house was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for Liz and Bill who both made us feel completely at home. Great location for exploring Winchester city and beyond.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz L, Owner at Magdalen House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thanks Sue for such a positive review. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends here a couple of weeks ago (I’ve been away in Cyprus hence the delay to responding). I’m glad you enjoyed your stay here and Winchester itself. Best wishes, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews