We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 419)
Filter reviews
1 420 results
Traveller rating
346
547
336
117
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
547
336
117
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cruise terminal floor to ceiling windows separate building pre cruise stay executive room mayflower park reception staff bit dated stayed here for one night isle of wight queen mary following morning self service west quay shopping centre buffet breakfast car parking good nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 420 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel n and off for over forty years even before it was a Holiday Inn. My wife & I stayed 14/15 Oct. It was what it is - once again an OK stay. However this time the lack of service from the bar was incredulous. I waited in front of TWO
bar staff for about five to six minutes while they fiddled about with the till. In that time I was completely ignored. At least some form of recogition would have been appreciated if not professional. I feel this hotel is complacent because of the cruise trade and needs to up its game.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lifts
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PaulD3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear PaulD3100

Thank you for your review.

I can assure you and fellow travelers the hotel is never complacent and we work very hard to exceed guests expectations.

Our owners have just invested millions in refurbishment of all bedrooms, bathrooms, restaurant, lobby and meeting rooms.

The team don’t always get it right as it appears from your experience at the till and this will be fed back to the team and I apologise you felt ignored.

I do hope we welcome you and your wife back again soon.

Warm regards
Daniel Gough
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good hotel, clean and good facilities including leisure, but the car park is ridiculously busy. Cars are parked all over the grass, churning up the ground, others are parked in awkward spots making access difficult. The hotel has loads of good points, but surely should only be taking on as many customers as it has the facilities for.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
Thank jennyhG3591HZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jenny H

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read you found the hotel clean and good facilities. In regards to the car parking we are a very busy hotel with growing conference business, more leisure members etc. We are looking at various alternative solutions to avoid guests parking on the grass.

Kindest regards
Daniel Gough
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked one night with breakfast and parking whilst we went on a short cruise. The hotel is located very close to the port and a short walk from the city centre. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff we came into contact with were friendly and professional. Breakfast was a good mix to suit differing tastes.
The hotel was very busy. This was reflected in the number of cars on the car park and surrounding green spaces. We did find a spot at the front of the hotel. Ideally the hotel would like you to park at the rear, presumably for extra security, but they were fine with us leaving our car where it was.
Our taxi from West Quay Cars arrived on time and was both comfortable and clean. The same company provided the taxi at the end of our cruise. The company sent a text with a link to an app which enabled us to see who was driving the taxi, what the registration was and showed the progress of the taxi on the route to us. Overall a good cruise and stay package.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kby121148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kby121148

Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Southampton.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service from the team.

The hotel car park is extremely popular and we advise guests to park where they feel most comfortable, with extensive CCTV and camera recognition system we are confident of security.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Daniel Gough
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 1 night prior to cruising, we booked the cruise & stay package. 1st impressions were not great as the car park was full. Cars were abandoned on the grass areas and parked in random places making it difficult for people to manoeuvre their cars. Check in was awful, the hotel was clearly understaffed, as part of our package we also had dinner. When we checked in we asked about dinner reservation and were told to speak to someone in the restaurant- why they couldn’t they sort it? We took our cases to our room after waiting 10 mins for the lift as 1 lift was out of action. We rang the restaurant and front desk from our room and didn’t get an answer from either....... we headed back downstairs (via the stairs after waiting for ages for the lift), on arrival at the restaurant we asked about our dinner to be told the restaurant was fully booked!!!!!! Absolute joke, the queue for the bar was 30 deep apparently there was a function for 250 people that the staff were unaware off! We eventually got dinner after discussions with staff, after waiting 1 hour for a table and a further hour for our starter to arrive! We left desert due to length of time taken. Felt very sorry for the staff, as not enough working. Not acceptable for any standard of hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 190748JoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 190748jof

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to read you left disappointed and found shortcomings in the service.

I do hope you will return as this is not our usual levels of Hospitality.

Kindest regards
Daniel Gough
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very clean hotel, and we had a lovely room, overlooking the water. The breakfast was very good, and at a very good price. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were on a cruise the following day, so the situation of the hotel was very good, and only minutes away from the cruise terminal.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank joyce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALGMSouthampton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joyce H

Wow thank you for your very kind review.

It’s great the hotel and service from the team exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Daniel Gough
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews