We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
217
170
40
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
170
40
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel main road excellent full english breakfast chain hotels city centre the main hotel large bathroom family room free wifi leave your car no elevator southampton university would definitely stay here again cruise stay good size busy road plenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked for five nights. Allocated room 4, adequate as a single room, FAR too small for us, as was the bed. As for the bathroom.... a shower head calcified, too small to swing a cat, and dated. Then so was the whole room, and far too warm, even with the window open the whole time. Mid-September, but a fan needed? The weather was not the problem. Five nights in THAT room? At a loss to understand the other reviews. Staff well meaning, maybe, but out of their depth in some cases, and clumsy, wearing different hats according to the rota set. Cut costing tactics. Certainly, skills not evident. Think it’s under new owners, even the awarded two star status open to question as a result. Yet, two years ago we weren’t unhappy. No, little refinement nor any attempt to impress. A bar and bistro too small by far, and not even open at weekends! Sorry, but a hotel barely adequate, merely a convenient spot to access other facilities in the city. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: NOT room 4!
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank colladogeoff19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and left the car here whilst going on our cruise. The hotel is supposedly a 2* but it doesn’t feel like it as it was a very pleasant stay with a nice brought to your table full English included. My only criticism was the car park,which was on the small side and took a little bit of sorting out to find a space. I would stay here for future cruises.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Wookie_win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Owner at Elizabeth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review and I am very pleased your stay with us at the Elizabeth House Hotel.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thanks

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before our cruise.
We didn’t arrive until late at night but that wasn’t a problem at all the staff were really friendly and welcoming.
The room we had was a family room and was very comfortable, clean and had everything you would require from a room plus free WiFi. Yes the hotel is near a busy main road but that wasn’t a problem even with the windows open it didn’t disturb our nights sleep.
The breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of breakfast items.
The car park is a little on the small side but again this really isn’t a problem.
As we arrived so late we asked for a later check out time and it was extended to 12noon free of charge.
As we didn’t know how to get to dock the next day the reception staff were very helpful and gave us a map to find the way.
Overall I thought it far exceeded our expectations for a 2* hotel, and we will definitely be using it again when we cruise again!
Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank K88tat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Owner at Elizabeth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words, I'm really pleased you chose to stay with us at the Elizabeth House Hotel.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thanks

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Stayed here before we went on our cruise, found everything to our liking. The staff were very helpful and breakfast was very good. You can leave your car for the duration of cruise and taxi to cruise terminal £10. No complaints

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markb20182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Owner at Elizabeth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mark,

Thank you very much for your stay and great review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your time with us at the Elizabeth House Hotel and hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very well appointed rooms, close to everything and run by a very welcoming family. We’ll be back again. Onsite parking for cruise passengers a big plus, nothing is too much trouble for the owner.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank MCJK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, Owner at Elizabeth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Elizabeth House Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews