We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bacaro”
Review of Bacaro

Bacaro
Ranked #5 of 951 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Description: Our philosophy echoes that of the Italian Bacari - that the simple pleasures are the most important for our health and wellbeing. Good wine, delicious food and the company of friends are the recipe for a life well lived. Relax with us and enjoy a few Chicetti (small plates) a glass of wine and take pleasure in the moment, free from worry. Pleasure is the greatest good.
Restaurant details
Description: Our philosophy echoes that of the Italian Bacari - that the simple pleasures are the most important for our health and wellbeing. Good wine, delicious food and the company of friends are the recipe for a life well lived. Relax with us and enjoy a few Chicetti (small plates) a glass of wine and take pleasure in the moment, free from worry. Pleasure is the greatest good.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

An Italian tapas restaurant situated on the edge of Ocean Village in Southampton .

Don’t expect a marina or sea view as situated on the main road and between the apartments .

However inside its like an old barn with vaulted ceilings . Quite a welcoming appeal and ambiance .

Friendly useful staff !

The food albeit small tapas portions is relatively good .

The ribs need more flavour and lack any teal taste .

However the other plates we tried were very good .

Watch out for their specials as not so obviously placed .

Thank 24jpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for for review. We really do appreciate all comments and feedback and have taken everything you have said onboard. Hope to see you back in Bacaro soon.

Kind regards
Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Excellent cocktails and super food. Pricing reflects the quality but may be a tad too near the top end for some.

Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your review stuart. Hope to see you at Bacaro again soon.

Kind regards
Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Bacaro (86.5)
Wow this place ticked all our boxes. The food really was amazing. How it works is, you select your individual protein, between us we chose beef, lamb and the nut roast. Then you share a big platter of vegetables consisting of; roast potatoes, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower cheese and roast parsnips. All cooked to perfection and lots yummy gravy. Yorkshire pudding only comes with the beef but you can add one for 50p. The deserts were also tasty and very pretty. I had the crime brûlée which wasn’t set properly but they replaced it promptly and the second one was fine. It was in our higher range but we think it’s worth it. The venue is modern and comfortable and the service was great. Unfortunately there is no disabled parking but everything is flat and they do have an accessible toilet. The place just had a nice relaxed atmosphere, we all loved it

Thank Diane_Jan_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hello Diane,

Thank you for such a lovely review, we really do appreciate every bit of feedback! So pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us, please do come back and try our Small plates menu soon. Hopefully we can impress as much with that too.

Kind regards
Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We had a lovely meal at Bacaro. The food is excellent and reasonably priced and the staff have just the right level of attentiveness (we were served by Angel and he was excellent). The atmosphere is very relaxed and the open terrace makes the most of the warm weather. We found 6-7 dishes perfect for 2 to share, the aranchini were excellent and the Halloumi salad very tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaimie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your review, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your dinner and Angel looked after you well. Please do come back soon, we look forward to your visit.

Kind regards
Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

The food was phenomenal, the service was super friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming - I wish I could eat here every day of the week!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chloe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you so much Chloe! You can eat here every day, we will happily have you. Look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacaro also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Bacaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing