We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Base”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portsmouth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pelly_12
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The stairs are very steep with a limited handrail, this should be mentioned in the cottage description. The hanging facility in the second bedroom was laughable, a branch of wood suspended from the ceiling! Changing TV channels was novel experience too, the remote had to be aimed t the Virgin box kn the cupboard





The stairs are very steep with only a limited handrail, this should be mentioned in the cottage description.The hanging facility in the second bedroom was very unusual, a branch of wood suspended from the ceiling! Changing the TV was also different, the remote control had to be aimed at a Virgin box in a cupboard under the stairs.The place maps needed washing, the sofa was stained & needs cleaning or replacing.There was only one tea towel.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Dear Jane,

thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Grove Cottage. We apologise that your stay was not as perfect as it could have been. Of the 18 reviews we have received this season on this and other websites, yours is the first which has not been 5 stars, so naturally we are concerned and disappointed.

With regards to the steep staircase, we thought that this was mentioned in the listing, but you are correct in saying that it was not. Thank you for pointing this out. The description has now been updated. We did make reference to it on the other websites we advertise on which explains why we have received more requests from elderly people through tripadvisor than elsewhere.

With regards to the décor, we make no apologies. As you rightly point out the house is definitely "different". We happen to like our 'branch of wood', as have many of the other guests. I suppose it does not appeal to all tastes, but we feel that the photographs are a fair representation of the property.

With regards to there only being one tea towel, we offer a heart felt apology and we do hope that this has not caused you too many sleepless nights. ;-)

All the best,
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K
1 review
“Excellent Base”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed as a small family group, this is excellent base, short walk from all Portsmouth has too offer, which is a considerable amount. Array of shops around the corner from accommodation but also only a short walk to Southsea Shopping centre and seafront. Historic dock is also very close. Lots of museums and places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: stairs - small children would need handrail
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani, Italy
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Napoli, Italia
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunny kitchen
Liked least: there is no bidet in the bathroom (like everywhere else in England, sob)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;