We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a deep clean”

Mountbatten Leisure Centre
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I joined as members a few months ago and the general cleanliness of the center appears to be going downhill. The pool has a line of grime at the water mark, revolting! Never have I seen this in a pool before. The gym equipment has dust everywhere. Particularly bad underneath the equipment around the treadmills arc. It looks like it is only hoovered around the equipment, it needs to be done underneath as well. The ladies changing room needs a deep clean from top to bottom as well as the shower area. There is a build up of talcum powder in the changing cubicles, I can scrape it off with my nail. Dust and dirt around the shower area in the hinges, nooks and crannies. Black mould in the silicone.Hair on the shower floor or glass panels, gross! Showers are scalding at times. Most of us would like a cool shower after a workout. I have worked in the leisure industry and have to say the level of cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. Glass and mirrors in the gym are grubby too. Seriously considering leaving. Surely with so many people using the center cleanliness should be a priority. It is a bacteria haven.

Thank kaitlinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review and telling us about your experiences. We are disappointed though to read that some areas are not quite meeting standards. We have reviewed all of your points and our technicians are looking into the maintenance issues you have raised. We are also closely monitoring cleanliness as a priority. We hope you see improvements and please come and have a chat with us next time you are in the venue as we'd be sorry to lose you.

A. Richards, Senior Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

15 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Have continued to use the facilities here on a regular basis. It is under new management now and continues to provide satisfactory sports facilities. I use it mostly for table tennis.

1  Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Many thanks for your feedback. We're delighted to read that you still are happy with our facilities and enjoy playing table tennis. If you have any further comments, or would like to see any improvements, please come and have a chat with us next time you are in the centre.

A. Richards, Senior Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

I was visiting the centre for a conference. I found the place to be clean, tidy and well maintained.

The staff were friendly and helpful for all questions asked.

I was mainly upstairs in the facilities area, which was nice. There was also on outdoor roof terrace with some tables and benches to sit on.

All in all a great place for a conference.

1  Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to read about the fantastic experience you enjoyed on your recent visit to the centre and will be sure to pass on the positive comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

A. Richards, Senior Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

rubbish, wish we had never booked lessons for our children. The lessons are held during normal open family swimming time, and club sessions - the pool is heaving and noisy. Quarter of the pool is roped off for lessons, and then split into 4 lanes, each lane has a lesson going on at the same time. our children are expected to hear what the instructor is saying, when they are 3 lanes to the side of them, with the instructor stood at the edge of the pool plus the other three instructors. showers are rubbish, toilets unclean.

Thank melanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback - it is always good to receive and ensures we continue to improve. We are very sorry to read though that your recent trip to the centre could've been better and have reviewed the points you have raised. The maintenance team will take a look at the showers and rectify any issues they find. The changing rooms and toilets should all receive regular spot checks and we will look at increasing these to make sure we hit the mark.

We are also sorry that your swimming lessons are a little busier than you had hoped for. There is an alternative session on Monday afternoon which may be a bit quieter and of interest. Please speak with our Swimming Coordinator, Kylie if you'd like to find out more.

A. Richards, Senior Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Haven't tried yet the pool or spa but the gym is amazing. Plenty of space, equipment, and weights. Also the track & field is useful when the weather is nice.

Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHLive, Manager at Mountbatten Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your fantastic five star review. We are delighted you think the gym is amazing with plenty of space and equipment – that’s great to read. We are also pleased to know that you make the most of the outdoor spaces too and look forward to welcoming you into the pool soon.

A. Richards, Senior Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountbatten Leisure Centre also viewed

 

Been to Mountbatten Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing