We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 470)
Filter reviews
1 470 results
Traveller rating
284
590
392
142
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
590
392
142
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gunwharf quays great location car park spinnaker tower historic dockyard bars and restaurants shopping centre per day hotel entrance free parking hms victory train station breakfast was included yogurt gun wharf isle of wight stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 1 470 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Could not fault location as we all wanted to visit the dockyard and the new Mary Rose Exhibition. Gunwharf Quays shopping excellent and brilliant choice of restaurants. The only thing that let the visit down was the Hotel. It was extremely tired and the room furniture was in dire need of updating. Room facilities, i.e. kettle etc must have originated from the Ark and, as for the shower - one needed to run around to get wet. Breakfast was a bit of hit and miss and not up to scratch so, I gave it a miss on the second night. We use to live in the Portsmouth area many, many years ago and visit yearly.. We will continue to visit but will NOT be using the Hotel again. ONE GOOD THING ABOUT THE HOTEL IS THE STAFF, THEY DO THE HOTEL CREDIT AND ARE EXCELLENT AND PROFESSIONAL.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamandjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Dear grahamandjenny,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to review your stay with us.

First of all let us apologise for some of the features in the hotel that you found a bit dated. We are in the process of updating our hotel; with new carpets and mattresses. Once these have been completed, we will be investing in new features such as kettles.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and making sure that everyone gets the most out of their stay.

Regarding breakfast, it is Holiday Inn Express standard to have complimentary continental breakfast with hot favourites of sausages, baked beans and scrambled egg. I am sorry that you did not feel our breakfast was not up to your expectations. We always strive to improve our hotel service, so thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Leith, a couple of months ago and that hotel was more superior.
Breakfast was chaotic and not a brilliant choice unless you wanted bread type things. On Saturday morning we had to sit at soft seats to have breakfast as it was over-crowded.
We chose it because of the location for the dockyard and museums visit. And because of its location it is popular. I would class it as a budget hotel but it is always expensive!

Room tip: Rooms on Shopping Mall side are quieter - away from the railway line.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMFC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear KMFC62,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Allow us to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to our breakfast area. We always strive to provide our guests with enjoyable accommodations and we regret that we did not meet some of your expectations. Rest assured that we will continuously do our best to always improve so we can accommodate you better in the future. I do hope that you will allow us to welcome you back and give us another opportunity to make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This hotel is in a great location for shopping . Also the historic dockyard museums are just a short walk away. You also get reduced parking rates and the first 24hours are free of charge. The hotel itself was clean and the rooms of adequate size. The breakfast was good with freshly cooked food constantly being added to the self service counter.The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is not the cheapest hotel,being mid range in price but you are paying a bit more for the excellent location.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThelmaandLouise50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Dear ThelmaandLouise50,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Gunhwarf Quays Holiday Inn Express.

Our breakfast is constantly being freshly cooked and our staff are here to answer any questions or help in any way they can to improve your guest experience here with us.

We are in the best location in Portsmouth for the shopping and eating outlets, so we are pleased you abused our location as much as possible!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed two nights so that we could visit the dockyards and then catch the ferry to the IOW. It is in an excellent location for both.

We received a warm welcome by the reception staff. Our room was over one of the shopping walkways and, at night, there was a constant buzz from the bars and eateries below. However, with the window shut there was no noise and the air conditioning in the room kept the room temperature at a perfect level.

The room was fairly compact but perfectly adequate for our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and was equipped with facilities for making hot drinks.
Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit is available and included melon, apples and bananas. There were also a selection of cereals and juices, cheeses, sliced bread (with facilities for making toast), rolls, small pastries and some hot items. The only problem on the second morning was that the hot food was running out much more quickly than it was being replenished. There's no need to go hungry!

The car parking was excellent. It is in the main Gunwharf quay car park. The downside is that you have to carry your luggage a little way to get up and into that hotel. We never moved the car for two days and only had to pay £2 to park. The first 24hrs are free.
Take your ticket, given on entry to the cay park, to the hotel receptionist. She will validate it for you.

All of the staff were very pleasant and polite. Our stay was very good and we would certainly come back to stay again.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skilli15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky C, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Skilli15,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly. We pride ourselves on our hotel staff and their customer service.

Our hotel is in the best place for the shops and food outlets in Gunwharf Quays, so that is great that you took advantage of this.

Regarding the busy breakfast, we do try our best to keep fresh food coming out as soon as possible. At peak times this can become more difficult but we will endeavour to improve the speed.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

May be I was unlucky but there has been a lot of noise overnight from kids screaming and having a party on my floor. However not worth downgrading the place For that!
Apart from that place is good. Clean enough and staff is polite. Location is perfect!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ariannadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Ariannadp,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took full advantage of the local area.

We do apologise for the disturbance you experienced during your stay. We do monitor such disturbances with our night team. Sorry again for this annoyance.

Kind regards,

Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews