We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Southsea!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 40 The Retreat

Alfresco dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfresco dining
Outside looking in Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Alfresco dining
Outside looking in
Living area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Top rooms
Family bathroom
Bathroom detail
Family shower room
Family shower space
Living room detail
Sitting room
Bedroom detail
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden at night
Beach life nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Portsmouth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sue b
1 review
“Superb Southsea!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely house, well equipped and clean. Felt at home . Great central posistion for all attractions and ammenities. Will be back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house for extended family”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Fantastic house for our family with everything we could need. The kitchen, living room, dining room was a great space meaning we could all be together even when we were doing different things. Our group included a 2,4 and 6 year old and it met their needs perfectly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv P
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent House for Christmas with Extended Family”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Superb house on three levels. The ground floor kitchen/lounge/dining area was great for a family Christmas with a very well equipped kitchen and plenty of seating for all. The house had spacious double rooms and fabulous bathrooms and en-suite, which suited 3 couples and 2 children across 3 generations with room to spare.

We expected parking to be an issue, but the permits worked well and we rarely needed to use the cars as there was plenty to do within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped house, with spacious kitchen/dining/lounge common area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieP584
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, spacious and well equipped house in a great location with friendly owners”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As part of a large group of friends we've stayed in this fabulous house twice now. The house is simply stunning, even better than the pictures! The communal lounge/dining/kitchen area is really spacious whilst being cosy and a real home from home. The kitchen is very well stocked with everything you could need. All the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms modern, bright and airy. Whilst we've stayed as a group of adults the house would work brilliantly for families or a group of families.

The parking permits work well, and once there we've never used our cars as everything is so handy. A short walk to Southsea sea front, restaurants, bars and Waitrose, and a Tesco express just round the corner too.

The owners are extremely helpful, friendly and flexible, and really prompt at dealing with pre-holiday enquiries.

We can't recommend it highly enough - one of the best houses our group has stayed in. We're just about to book for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge/kitchen/dining area
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPsurrey
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great position for P'mouth and S'sea. No need to use car. Good house”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A warm welcome form Malisa to her home. 3 brilliant new bathrooms and accommodation was superb for 3 generations including 3 young children.
Garden area was delightful and the weather good enough to eat out . The garden still has late afternoon sun . We were able to park near the house with one car and moved the other when there was a space. The street parking can get very busy. However once in we did not use the car and either walked or used local buses .
Had a Sainsbury's home delivery which arrived on time- good fridge freezer to take everything and there were local shops and a nearby Waitrose to top up. Could have done with more teaspoons!! . All in all a great house for what we wanted for a few days by the sea.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing