We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 271)
Filter reviews
1 271 results
Traveller rating
259
491
339
121
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
491
339
121
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancake machine gunwharf quays health club swimming pool sauna and steam room minute walk the hotel car park leisure centre sea front clarence pier isle of wight historic dockyard stayed here for one night short break family room quiet location spinnaker tower
Filter
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 1 271 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We stayed at this hotel in August. We were going to the Isle of Wight for the day and had to catch the 10am ferry. My husband booked an executive suite as a treat for me, but what a waste of money that was. The room was no bigger than any other room in the hotel, the bed was the same as any other room as far as we could see. It was a warm night and we couldn't open the window more than 1.5 inches and the air conditioning didn;t seem to be working so we spent a very uncomfortable night.
We have stayed in Holiday Inns before and have always been impressed, but not this time.
When we arrived there was only one person on reception to check people in, she was on the telephone and didn't seem in any hurry to welcome us at all. We waited for five minutes while she talked without any acknowledgement to those who were waiting in a queue to check in. Eventually another member of staff appeared and delt with us. There were two lifts, but only one was working. We could see that there was new carpet in the hallway and it looked as if the corridor had been recently decorated, but the paintwork was very bad as if they had only done one coat and needed to come back and finish the job.
When we checked out we stood behind a gentleman who had obviously stayed there for business reasons, he also seemed very unimpressed with the hotel as he was complaining and was offered a discount as compensation.
I felt very sorry for the girl on the desk that morning because she seemed to be trying to compensate a lot of guests who were unhappy.
We discussed with her the problems and she told us that the hotel was under new management who were trying to make improvements. They obviously have a very long way to go.

Room Tip: Don't bother with an executive room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aloequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Aloequeen,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. The hotel was built in the 70's so all the bedrooms are all of a similar size, sadly on the smaller side especially the bathrooms so we have to do the best with the product we have got. We are currently in the midst of a major refurbishment scheme which is why the corridor may only have been partially done. I will pass on your comments to the General Manager please accept my apologies.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed 16th for 2 nights a bit of trepidation after reading previous reviews but totally great stay on check in about 8pm the staff were really informative asked us where our car is we had to park on road outside as car park full but don't pay at machine hotel will give you a pass next morning got up and moved car inside no problem .... room was fantastic (401) nice view of solent and had everything iron ironing board tea coffee great shower and hairdryer for wife in evening 1st night went bar and had lounge food this was really good quality and a lot of it compared to our hotels I've stayed all bar staff were very friendly and nice room were serviced and cleaned to good standard all in all a great stay and will definitely stay again

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank paulharpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Paul H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay having read some less than complimentary reviews. Customer service is extremely important to us so to hear that the staff were friendly and informative is excellent. Thank you for your positive comments with regards to the room and quality of the food. I will pass your compliments on to all the teams.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Spent 2 nights at this hotel whilst visiting family and doing a little sightseeing. The room was spacious and clean, if a little "corporate". Not much storage space - no drawers or shelves. Apart from hanging a few things up, had to use my suitcase as a drawer. Quite a walk from hotel to Gunwharf Keys and Dockyard but then we did get a bit lost! Used taxis from then on which the reception staff were happy to phone and book for us. Breakfast was OK - the usual buffet - but one irritation was that no side-plates or butter knives were provided. How are you supposed to butter toast? We resorted to using a large plate meant for cooked breakfast and knives filched from settings on another (empty) table! Overall, it was a pleasant stay and the staff were all polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AylesburyTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear AylesburyTish,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the cleanliness of your bedroom and our location. We are approximately a 15 minute walk from Gunwharf Quays but it can be easy to get lost if you are not familiar with the area. We take pride in our customer service so it makes all of our hard work worthwhile hearing that the staff were polite and helpful. I will pass on your suggestion to the Restaurant Manager regarding side plates and butter knives.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Bar manager was rude to staff (Barbara) I believe her name badge had wrote on it, she was a lovely lady! The BAR manager spoke to her unwelcoming and was not friendly to us, made us feel very uneasy!!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Sophie C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us so thank you for this feedback. We do not have a Barbara that works at The Holiday Inn Portsmouth however I will pass on your comments to the General Manager.

Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel while visiting the Goodwood Revival meeting. The hotel has had a much needed refurbish ment since my last visit but disappoints in some areas. In a modern refurbished hotel room one would expect to find a room safe but not so here. The refurb'd bathroom benefited from an excellent modern walk-in shower (see photo) but the bathroom door would not fully open because it was obstructed by the WC (see photo). The food is of indifferent quality and the menu unimaginative. On the posative side the hotel is clean and the staff extremely heplful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William_Bloxham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear William_Bloxham,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

Thank you for all of your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I am sorry about the problems you have found with the bathroom door I will pass your comments on to our General Manager. We have our new restaurant menu launching next week which we are very excited about. I am pleased that you found the staff helpful and friendly as customer service is extremely important to us.

Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews