We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Vulcan

HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
LOUNGE BEDROOM 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
LOUNGE
BEDROOM 1
HARBOUR FRONT 50 METRES FROM APARTMENT
DINING ROOM
APARTMENT ENTRANCE IS UNDER THE ARCH
SPINNAKER TOWER 80 METRES AWAY
SEAFRONT AT SOUTHSEA 5 MINUTES WALK AWAY
DINING AREA FROM LOUNGE
STAIRCASE TO LOUNGE
BEDROOM 2
KITCHEN
LOUNGE
BEDROOM
LOUNGE
FRONT OF VULCAN BUILDING
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portsmouth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachael25...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place in great location”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We loved our stay at The Vulcan. The apartment was comfortable and had everything we needed. As an overseas visitor we had to work out with the owners how to make the payment, but they were very accomodating. On our way there we were held up in traffic and without a U.K. mobile phone it was hard to stay in touch about our expected arrival time. However Nareej and Joanne were very understanding and gave us a warm welcome when we finally arrived. We would definitely stay again if we ever make it back to Portsmouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the historic setting and the warm welcome
Liked least: Not being able to pay via credit card
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Thanks very much for staying with us and we are so pleased your enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helennewb...
Calabasas, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful apartment”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I just loved this apartment. It has been tastefully converted and there are lovely original features. This had all of the amenities that you would expect and in a great location. Neeraj and Jo made the whole rental process painless. Will definitely stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
It was lovely to meet you and we are so please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and high quality aparment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
it was a pleasure to meet you and thanks very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn S
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never staying in a hotel again !!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

From booking this apartment in March I have nothing but praise for how everything was dealt with,with a personal e-mail from Neejai and Joanne on a regular basis,I felt like I already knew them when we were greeted by Neejai on our first day. We all agreed that the apartment had the Wow factor !! and was spotless until we arrived !!. Having been to Portmouths several times and stayed in hotels where we have had to drive or get a taxis we could not believe how close we were to the sea front and The Gunwharf shopping centre with great restaurants. Only used the car once in 4 days and this was to get to my favorite wine from Aldi, but there is a Tesco 5mins away which sells everything you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
It was lovely to meet you all and thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us.
We really enjoy meeting all the lovely guests that come from all over the world to Portsmouth and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotaway22
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Everything was first class from start to finish and the situation would be hard to beat.
Thank you Joanne & Neeraj.
We'll be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
It was lovely to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing