We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
779 results
Traveller rating
547
170
49
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
170
49
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mercer group car park off road parking florence arms gastro pub mercer collection lovely hotel sea front hotel group sister hotel cooked breakfast single room l'occitane toiletries comfortable bed lovely decor quiet location breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 779 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Not sure what the alternatives are in Portsmouth, but Strattons is a reasonable alternative for the business Traveller. Clean, a bit quirky, but good internet etc, and close to the seaside park for a morning run. Strattons is part of a small hotel group in Southsea - the main restaurant is located at a sister establishment a block up the street (which was closed for renovations, but the food at the attached pub was fine). A nice change of pace.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. Our team was really happy to assist you during your stay with us! We are thrilled you enjoyed our new Pub and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Room was clean, well decorated and quiet. Beach only few minutes walk. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Private parking. Plan your route to hotel though as we had difficulty finding it. Theres a nice bar few minutes walk from hotel called Jolly Sailor.

Room tip: Lots of steps so unsure about wheelchair access.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thank you for taking a time to leave us a review. We are glad you liked our hotel and found it clean, well decorated and quiet. Many thanks again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We have visited other hotels within the Mercer collection and Stattons several times , always a lovely stay, the rooms are good sized, well presented and beautifully decorated, the breakfast is plentiful and the staff welcoming and helpful, well worth the money.

Room tip: One of the best Hotels and well worth a stay.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prob739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Thank you for taking a time to leave us such a nice review! It makes us proud to be described as “One of the Best”. Our staff were happy to have you here so contact us next time you are in the area and we will be more than happy to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Very friendly greeting at Reception, and even had the choice of two rooms. Decided on Room 1 on first floor, good sized well decorated with a comfy bed and larger bathroom, also had my wife's initials on the pillows on the bed, how thoughtful :-) .
Good quiet nights sleep and a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. We will return as tis location is ideal and near son at uni.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

We are so very pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you kindly for leaving us this splendid review and we hope to see you real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We were visiting my sister, and had been advised by another family member to use The Mercer Collection.
Really pleased we chose Stattons Hotel. A beautiful Victorian hours has been transformed to welcome guests.
Our room was wonderful, decor tasteful ,bathroom fantastic.
The next morning breakfast was unbelievable!! I chose scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, the chef should be commended! I have not enjoyed a breakfast more in a long time.
The staff are friendly and welcoming, nothing too much trouble.
We would stay again, I will advise friends and family to visit.
Stattons is a walk from the seafront, we also had a car park , this is unheard of in Southsea.
Well done, The Mercer Collection.
Julie and Mike.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank juspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Being recommended by our guests is the nicest compliment we can get. It means for us we do great job and we have to keep up with our breakfasts:) We are glad you liked the decor of the hotel and our staff made you want to visit us again.
Julie and Mike - thank you very much for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews