We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveller rating
542
170
49
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
170
49
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mercer group car park off road parking florence arms mercer collection gastro pub lovely hotel sea front hotel group sister hotel cooked breakfast single room l'occitane toiletries comfortable bed lovely decor quiet location southsea seafront
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 774 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We had a delightful four nights in this small boutique hotel in Southsea, Portsmouth, in early November 2015.

If in the area I used to stay outside the City as I tend to expect high standards, clean rooms and good service which I have not always found in the City or chain hotels before, however as my normal hotel of choice was fully booked I tried Stattons which is a part of the Mercer Group with a small number of select hotels.

I recommend Stattons Hotel unreservedly and I will return in the future.

Much better than the normal chain hotels with lots of personal touches.

Great location in a quite area of Southsea.

Off road parking in a well lit car parking available (car park a little tight if driving a bigger vehicle) which you do not get at all hotels in the area, approach roads are narrow and congested with parked vehicles late at night..

Access to hotel is up a set of Victorian stairs and the accommodation is then on the second and third floors and there is no lift but staff will help with your luggage if you so should need it.

Staff are excellent, friendly, helpful and pleasant, rooms are comfortable, tastefully well decorated and very clean.

Great breakfast with very good choice and prepared fresh to order, again excellent service and if you want extra toast, tea or coffee etc. you only have to ask

Situated in a Victorian house a few minutes walk from the seafront and a short drive or 15 minute walk from Gunwarf Quays and the old historic dockyard areas.

Tip: if driving in or out of Portsmouth, particularly during rush hour(s) it is easiest and quicker to go in and out via east Portsmouth to M27/A27 and A3.

Room tip: They are all good!
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sniper2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2015

'Outstanding Boutique Hotel'- Wow what a wonderful opening for such a kind review! Thank you. We're thrilled you had a delightful four night stay at Stattons. We were pleased to read all the lovely comments on our freshly cooked to order breakfast, excellent service and clean and tastefully decorated rooms. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future! Thank you again.
Kind Regards Stattons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here a year or so back, very friendly night porter who escorted me to my room and informed me of local establishments etc
Nice double room and very comfy bed great value for money at only £65 booked 6 days in advance.
Well decorated and very clean on suite and bath tub.
Overall very pleasant stay and no complaints.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm delighted to read you had a very pleasant stay with no complaints! I'm pleased to also read you found the bed comfortable and your stay great value for money! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Stayed just one night (Room 11). Warm and welcoming with comfortable bed. Had to turn radiator down as very warm. This is a good location for Southsea and shops and it is excellent value and better quality than many chain hotels. Would try restaurant next time but breakfast cooked to order with quality food.

Room tip: As this is a converted house check on room specification as they are all different in size, spec and access.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PuchM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave us here at Stattons a review. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us . Your title 'Lovely hotel, off road parking, very friendly staff and breakfast of nice quality.” is a lovely short and sweet review in itself! We hope to welcome you back soon and hopefully this time book you a table at the Restaurant too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We had 2 rooms for 2 nights while visiting attractions in Portsmouth. The rooms are individual and beautifully decorated and furnished. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room amenities are good. The rooms were very warm (OK with the window open though, not sure how this would be in summer time). Our rooms were downstairs and were nice and quiet, although we did hear footsteps from the dining room above from 7 a.m.this was not intrusive. The hotel is set away from the main road so there is little traffic noise and the car park was useful as we didn't need to move the car during our stay.
30 minute walk into Dockyard and Gunwharf Quay was easy or there's a regular bus service.
There was a good choice for breakfast and all the food was delicious.
Overall a lovely place to stay for our short break in Portsmouth and would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Thank you so much for this review- ' A beautiful individual hotel'. What a lovely way to start such a sweet review of Stattons. I was delighted to read all your lovely comments about our rooms describing them as 'beautifully decorated and furnished' but most importantly 'lovely and comfortable beds'. I'm glad you found the location suited your needs as well as the added bonus of our car park. Its lovely to read you also enjoyed our freshly cooked to order breakfast on both mornings. We would love to welcome you back next time you are in the area, please don't hesitate to get in contact.
Best Wishes Stattons .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Arrived to a warm welcome attractive room plenty of space, clean and very comfortable {not for people who don't do stairs} quiet rooms, good parking.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast the following morning was well cooked and served, all that you could want and more.
A nice walk into Southsea shops or seafront or a little further to Portsmouth lovely not to take the car.
Theatre within walking distance and a lovely pub for good food near by.
Would we visit again YES we are looking at booking again in December

Room tip: All rooms are good size Dining room lovely and light as are the rooms.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1chooseylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2015

Thank you for this kind review of Stattons. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and are already looking to book for another stay in December. We are pleased to read you found the room clean and comfortable and our staff helpful and friendly. Please don't hesitate to call so we can assist you on your booking for the perfect stay. Best Wishes Stattons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews