We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice stay excellent for small children”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest Cabin

Lodge set in 3 acres within the national park, Views across open fields and woodlands from lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge set in 3 acres within the national park, Views across open fields and woodlands from lounge
Patio opening on to 3 acre new forest garden. Christmas tree and decorations provided Modern eye level wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Lodge set in 3 acres within the national park, Views across open fields and woodlands from lounge
Patio opening on to 3 acre new forest garden. Christmas tree and decorations provided
Modern eye level wood burner
Double oven fully fitted Kitchen light and airy
Modern dishwasher, top of the range washer and separate dryer
Hot tub for 6 people
Outside dining for 4-6 with views across the New Forest
37 degree hot tub with multiple jets air blowers and mood lighting
Additional patio seating and gas BBQ
Close up of the eye level woodburner
2 Super King or 1 Twin and 1 Super King bedded room with Smart TV and Sonos in each room
King size bed headboards Smart TV and touch lighting
Ensuite large shower and toilet
Family bathroom and shower
Family bathroom, sink toilet bath and shower
King or Twin bed in bed 2 again with all Linen and towels
Gas BBQ
Views of the National park from the nearby footpath
7 miles of sandy beaches close by (12 Miles or 15 minutes)
New Forest ponies will come close
New Forest wild horses, ponies donkeys cows and pigs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
millie l
1 review
“Very nice stay excellent for small children”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay, we travelled with an 18 month old and the place was ideal.

Yes it needs finishing off but its only minos, bathrooms were lovely and the kitchen was brilliant. Small garden and trampoline was a lovely extra.

Its ideally located. Only small issue was that the second bedroom was a bit teeny so putting the travel cot up in there was a bit of a pain. But thats nothing really!

Wifi was good and the location is very quiet.

Drive a little tight, if you had a big car could be an issue but my golf was fine!

we will be returning, it made what could have been a stressful break with a toddler a really enjoyable stay.

Thank you Ian see you soon x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and prive
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinballsu...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, unspoiled countryside and quality extras”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked this cottage to have a holiday with our daughter and her partner and our 2 dogs. On arrival we found that the property was clean and the beds very comfortable. The location is unbeatable. There are two decent pubs (The Foresters and The Royal Oak) about a mile away, 25 minutes walk from the front door. Even better there is a really good restaurant, The Three Lions a couple of hundred yards down the road which has a small bar and welcomes visitors. The local towns are near, so groceries and so on are easy to find. Other amenities are easy to locate thanks to the owners information pack. We used all of the gadgets at the property from the hot tub, barbeque and the smart TV's through to the Sonos sound system (which is first rate). The field at the rear was really good for the dogs to stretch their legs, they had a wonderful time.

I agree with previous and other reviews that there are some minor decorating issues that need attention, it appears the owners have just finished the property and I would describe these as 'snagging out' issues, anyone who has moved into a new home will understand what that means. Only the lack of a frying pan and the missing second bathroom door handle was an irritant.......and that was not in my room so it did not bother me at all ;-). The property description mentions a dryer and dish washer in the kitchen along with a freezer and double oven, although there is a single oven and a small freezer compartment in the fridge we didn't find the other two appliances so we choose to think that the description may have been lifted from the owners second rental property, Forest Meadow, which is next door and forms a larger rental as part of the same building.

Overall this is very good accommodation in an excellent location, the owners are responsive to email and provide detailed information and prompt service. I've dropped them a line to say 'thank you' already and we will be staying again as it is apparent that more improvements are planned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and extras
Liked least: Some decorative finishing needed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aleccarte...
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked this cottage to have a quiet walking holiday with our 2 dogs. The property was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with modern appliances. We enjoyed the use of the smart TV. I agree with other reviews that there are some minor decorating issues that need attention but this did not detract from the overall enjoyment of the week. The field at the rear was really good for the dogs to stretch their legs.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis F
1 review
“Very nice short trip in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Cabin was very clean and comfortable, had everything we needed and the Hot Tub was very much appreciated indeed.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanixDrag...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sweet escape!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely little place in gorgeous area. Cabin is more like a little bungalow, modern inside. Yes there is little finishing work to do, but for cry out loud you are not taking 25 year mortgage for it, you're going to spend there few days there to relax! There's Smart TV, WiFi, Sono speakers and even an xbox with few games if weather's bad or you have someone not very country side enthusiastic with you. Place was very clean (even my OCD future mother in said so!).
Beds comfortable, very quiet at night or day, tight blinders, I don't remember when I slept so well. Smart little BBQ for your use...just nice little stay! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet!
Liked least: Could help if pdf file with all information was printed ind left in actual cabin, but it's me being lazy and not being bothered to do it myself.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing