We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming cottage set in beautiful countryside.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sweetslade

Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows The spacious open-plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows
The spacious open-plan living area
The light & sunny dining area
The large bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Sweetslade seen from the south with sunny seating area
The living area with woodburning stove and flat screen HD TV
Lovely views from the living room
The well-equipped & stylish kitchen area
The well-equiped & stylish kitchen area
Wake up to a view of the open countryside
The spacious bedroom with king size bed, and open staircase to the ground floor
A luxurious en-suite bathroom
The bedroom features a stunning south-east facing gable window
A view of Sweetslade from the footpath
A short walk from the door to the bluebell woods
The footpath from Sweetslade to the village & pub
A view of Rockbourne village
A view of Rockbourne village
The Rose and Thistle pub in Rockbourne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Fennick
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A charming cottage set in beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We really loved our stay at Sweetslade, this pretty cottage is well furnished and very comfortable. The local area is extremely beautiful, great for walking with some lovely local pubs. The owner Robert showed us around and had already lit the log burner when we arrived, making the place feel very homely, he explained all of the appliances (which were all very easy to use) and made us feel very welcome. We will definatley be back again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2014
Thanks for the review, great that you enjoyed your stay hopefully see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1york2
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

AS all the other reviewers, we had to give this a five. The position is awesome, the interior is of very high standard and Robert the owner is keen to assist. We stayed last week for a few days and were instantly charmed by the renovated barn, the position on the edge of the New Forrest is ideal for visiting all the surrounding villages. The walks are literally on the door step, with lots of different wildlife evident daily.

The nearby village of Purley has an amazing ice cream stall outside of one of the shops, with so much choice of cones and extra toppings that it is difficult to decide which one to have, reasonably priced also. We visited the Bat and Ball pub twice as the service, food and atmosphere was lovely and good value for money.

We also visited Liberty's Owl, Raptor and Reptile centre, wow, what an experience and great value for money. I have never seen so many birds in one place before. The bird flying display (1pm) lasted an hour and the young gentleman who performed it was knowledgeable and humorous. We spent 21/2 hours here, looking at all the exotic reptiles and birds, brilliant and we will be back.

We would change a couple of things at Sweetslade, BUT this is obviously our opinion and did not impact greatly on our stay, otherwise we would not have given it a 5* rating. Personally we did not like the bath and would have installed a walk in shower, the shower that is available had to be held by hand, not very convenient, fine as we were only staying for a few days in March, but not sure it would not inconvenience us greater had this been mid summer and visits to the beach and the use of suntan lotion needing to be removed daily. They other items we would definitely include are the instruction booklets for the various items within the property like the oven, grill and cooker top, this took a little playing around with to work out. We would have liked more wardrobe space also, had we been staying longer, but it was more than adequate for a few days.

All in all we loved this property and will look to come back for a few days in September if available & would definitely recommend Sweetslade to others. We feel it was very good value for money. Thank you Robert for allowing us to stay and we hope to see you again later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
Thanks for the review I must get to work on some more instructions for the appliances. Sorry about not putting in a walk in shower but I was concerned about leaks on the first floor and I must confess that I prefer a soak in the bath.Although I realise some prefer to shower unfortunately I couldn't fit them both in.However I'm pleased to see you plan on a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Mar 2014
Thanks for the great review its always uplifting to know that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LWaller89
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a gorgeous short break at Sweetslade, with my partner. We had gone to celebrate our two year anniversary and we were not disappointed. Located down a quiet road, just outside of Rockbourne, Sweetslade is a little builders store conversion and is just wonderful.

We were greeted by Robert, who was welcoming and friendly, before giving us a quick tour and a bit of information regarding the fire and technology items. We were then left to settle in. This took no time at all. The surroundings are beautiful and it was very easy to relax. Everything was modern and well looked after.

The photos I have taken speak for themselves. The area is lovely and is close to larger towns.

I would recommend a visit to the Rose and Thistle pub in Rockbourne, but make sure you book in advance! The food was gorgeous and the staff were ever so lovely.

Really, this break is perfect for couples looking to get away from the busy hubbub of life and retreat to the country.

Would absolutely visit again. Thank you so much, Robert!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2014
thanks so much for the generous review, hope to see you both again for the next anniversary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becki W
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage for Valentines' weekend and couldn't have picked anywhere better. It's in a pretty village, with gorgeous views and the place itself is obviously really well looked after: clean, cosy, and well-decorated. There was a power cut on the night we arrived due to the horrible storms bringing a tree down on a power line, and the owner was over almost immediately with candles and a torch - we felt really looked after and were so grateful. Even in the pitch black the cottage was warm and comfortable! Power was back on the next day and we were so glad we didn't have to go home.

Not a single bad word to say but lots of good ones: lovely owner, lovely village, lovely cottage, lovely walks, and a lovely meal at the Rose and Thistle down the road. We were only there a weekend but left in such a good mood it felt like we'd been away for weeks. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Pleased to hear that the storm didn't ruin your enjoyment, still the candles did seem appropriate for valentines day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing