We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location - Wonderful Hosts”

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth T
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the stables for three nights in the Easter holidays and had a wonderful time. The accommodation was superbly equipped, with everything we could have possibly needed, as well as being exceptionally clean and comfortable. We were made very welcome by the owners Julie and Simon and their lovely dog Ralph, whom my dog Willow thought was the bee's knees. We were blessed with the weather, and the location was absolutely perfect for lots of beautiful rambles through the countryside and forest. There are many fantastic pubs in the area to drop in on and quench your thirst after a long walk, the Alice Lisle and the High Corner Inn to name a few. This whole area is incredibly dog friendly, and we couldn't have been made more welcome by anyone that we met. We shall be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah W
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay At The Stables”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great 5 night break at The Stables with our Labradoodle Dave. The accommodation was perfect. Spacious and warm with everything we needed. Our hosts Julie and Simon were most welcoming and helpful. We chose to come here initially for the residential dog training (which was absolutely fantastic!) but the accommodation was so lovely and well situated we are planning to have a holiday here in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesK83
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fab five night stay in the New Forest! We stay every year but this is by far the best accommodation we have had! We took our dog to the beach everyday, we love the beaches and the sea - we didn't have the best of weather but it was amazing neverthless! The Stables perfect for us - spotlessly clean, the bed was the most comfy bed ever! ONly slight constructive criticism - and this really is all I can find - is the kichen could do with some sharper knives! Julie & Simon friendly and helpful - didn't really know if they were there most of the time! We loved their dog Ralph - was great watching the dogs play together! The Alice just around the corner for a glass of wine to watch the sunset! Would love to stay again - we are hoping to return next summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being in the heart of the forest
Liked least: The knives in the kitchen!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I know it's taken me a while to get back to you. Sharper knives have been put in The Stables.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Long Weekend break”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights with my pregnant wife. Found the accomodation to be very well equiped. The patio and bbq were great for cooking in the evening and even better for the morning when cooking the lovely thick bacon from the farm shop down the road. Its a bit out the way but would be great for cycling. We travelled around by car, but next time we will brink the pushbikes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
84Donna27
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5* accommodation in 5* surroundings”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just stayed in here for a week - perfect in every way!!
Ideally situated for great walks in the New Forest or trips further a field - what ever takes your fancy!
Gorgeous stable conversion set in Julie and Simon's garden, but with enough privacy that you would never know they were there! (Unless you need them)
A perfect retreat for your four legged members of the family!!
We were very lucky with the weather, but to be honest rain or shine The Stables cannot be faulted in anyway - We had a fantastic time!!
THANK YOU!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing