We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect characterful property, beautifully...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Newtown Cottage

Newtown Cottage in the unspoilt New Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newtown Cottage in the unspoilt New Forest
Newtown Cottage view from garden Secluded 1/4 acre garden with the open forest beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Newtown Cottage in the unspoilt New Forest
Newtown Cottage view from garden
Secluded 1/4 acre garden with the open forest beyond
Bedroom 2 with views across the garden to open forest
Garage with playroom above
Outdoor living - weather dependent!
Parking area with parking for 3 cars
Bedroom 1 dates back to the 17th century, en-suite
Bedroom 2 beautifully furnished with twin aspect
Bedroom 3 great for children
Dining room with seating for 8
Cosy living room with planty of seating & with open fire
Living room tastefully decorated
Living room in the original part of the cottage
Inglenook fireplace, beautiful for those winter evenings
Landing with views over garden
Kitchen with Aga
Utility Room with dishwasher and washer/dryer
Playroom with cupboards full of toys!
Bathroom with 'coffin' shaped bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RichJ_Lam...
Milton Keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced, dirty and in need of a makeover...”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I should have known what to expect after the horrendous experience of trying to pay for the cottage and get a booking confirmation. I e-mailed the owner around 4-5 times over a 2 week period before finally getting an acknowledgement that I had paid a deposit. Then I had to e-mail them 1 week after the due date for the balance as they couldn't be bothered to e-mail me and ask for the money.

The pictures make this cottage look quite nice but the reality is different....

The house is in need of a serious deep clean! We spent our entire first evening cleaning the house before letting our children sleep there. The dining room table looked like it was last cleaned in about 1980.

The en-suite upstairs is unusable as it is mouldy and has a sickly stench of fish that is unbearable.

Paint is flaking all over the house and the bathroom blind is covered in mould.

The toaster is next to useless.

The oven in the kitchen should be condemned.

Our childrens clothes needed washing after spending 5 minutes in the filthy playroom.

This house is being advertised as a top quality expensive rental. I think we paid ~£1200 for a week but I would still feel ripped off if I had paid £400!

Avoid.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming home
Liked least: Opening the front door for the first time
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your review. We are surprised that you did not try to contact us during your stay or afterwards to discuss any of the issues you raised. This would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns.

Just to clarify you paid £900 for the week, not £1200 as you have stated. From receiving your initial enquiry to confirming your deposit was completed within 4 days and 3 e-mails. You final balance was confirmed within 3 e-mails, one of which was your arrival details. This is comparable to all our other guests.

We do keep the cottage to a high standard and spend a minimum of 8 hours cleaning in a 4 hour window on change-over day.

We note most of your photos are of the playroom above the garage with it's velux roof windows and wooden stairs. The playroom is not kept to the same standard as the cottage. It is cleaned weekly, but with bear wooden floors and children coming in from the garden, the wood is stained.

With regard to your other comments:
We are aware of the paintwork around the bath and have commented in the book to this effect. We are coming to the end of the summer season of back-to-back bookings which don't allow us to paint between guests. Our decorator is scheduled to come in at the end of September for the annual redecoration.

The oven is 2 years old and is cleaned weekly.

We regularly review our prices with similar properties in the New Forest area and know we are competitive.

Kind Regards
Tim and Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypenr...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect characterful property, beautifully decorated, with forest all around”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were looking for a property which was tastefully furnished, characterful and close to nature. We were delighted with Newtown Cottage. It was even nicer than we expected from the photos.
The kids immediately went out of the garden gate, across the bridge into the forest and started to build dens. When the New Forest ponies wandered past them as they were building they were amazed. There are tall trees surrounding the property and it looks out onto nature all around but the garden and house are still light and airy.
The beach is half an hour drive and we also went to Go Ape and the water slides in Poole which were both great fun for young and old alike. We hired a boat from Aquasafe in Lymington and cruised along the Solent to the Beaulieu river and went up to Buckler's Hard and back which was a fun adventure. There are some amazing fossil shells and sharks teeth to find on the beach at Highcliffe where there's also a great place to eat called Cliff Hanger.
If there is anything that could be improved - and really nothing is urgent - then it would be the tiny shower which has mould between some of the tiles and a door that sticks so the kids thought they were trapped!
Also beware that the top bunk is very close to the ceiling. My 12yr old had wanted to sleep in the top bunk and then we realised that she would have had to slide into bed like posting a letter. Although the room is small it is very cute and cosy and she was very happy in the bottom bunk.
All in all we had a perfect holiday and hope that we will be able to return again. Thanks Johanne for sharing your home with us.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of cottage and it's location right in the forest with ponies walking past
Liked least: Shower was very cramped, a bit of mould and door stuck shut.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The staircase!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bahrain20...
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 16 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at the cottage for one week at the end of November. We took our 2 yr old daughter and we all had a really great stay. The decor in the house was lovely and made it feel like a home and the kitchen and dinng area were great. We really liked the location and drove into Ringwood a few times which has everything you need. It is a great place to rent in the winter as it was really cosy but we will also look forward to renting it in the summer when we can make more use of the garden. The only negative was that there was no wi-fi. I would highly recommed this cottage, it is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great kitchen / diner, really good decor overall
Liked least: No wi-fi and access via the gravel driveway would have been difficult without a 4 x 4
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
Thank you for your comments. You will be pleased to know WIFI is now available :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location Location Location (and the fire :D)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing