We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent - Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Anvil Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
welington...
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“'Dolls cottage'”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This ‘dolls’ cottage may be fine for a long week end stay, however it is not suitable for longer. We booked for 10 days, and didn’t want to eat out every night. The kitchen equipment is minimal, the oven is unusable due to shelves tipping down - no back attachments.

No spare linen or towels, so we resorted to drying the damp towels in the washer/dryer, but that was only once we found the booklet. One tea towel. Very little information on cottage.
Bin day etc.

Contacted owner via phone and email about turning on boiler as it was cold in the evening. No response. Only latterly once back home, saw email response - too late in the day for us.

Very disappointed. We have stayed in many cottages around England over the years, and this is the most mean spirited we have visited. OK milk, wine and a few teabags supplied, this is normal practise with rental cottages.

Winchcombe of course is a delightful village and the countryside is beautiful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2016
Hello, sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay!

There is plenty of kitchen equipment to be found at the cottage: pots, pans, baking dishes, utensils, knives, glasses, plates, bowls and more. Towels and linen are provided, there is a large heated towel rail in the bathroom so that they can stay warm for next use! Unfortunately, during your stay, the oven shelves had been taken out and then not put back in correctly.

The cottage is a small property (which gives it a quaint cosy charm!) as shown in the photos and description; as I am sure you can understand it can not be made bigger! I do provide a 'welcome pack' of tea, coffee, jam, milk, wine, cereals and bottles of water as a kind gesture for those who would like to relax and get the kettle straight on! :-)

I had responded to your enquiry on your day of arrival, I am sorry that it was not until you had arrived home that you had seen this - the boiler is left on in the cottage for heating and hot water but the thermostats may have needed adjusting to suit your requirements . Instruction manuals can be found in the cottage but I will work on creating a welcome booklet for future guests.

Best wishes, Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supergas2...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent - Great Location”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We totally enjoyed our stay in this lovely little cottage, very clean and in a great location for exploring Winchcombe town centre and the surrounding area.

Nice touch with the bottle of win waiting for your arrival chilling in the fridge and the cottage was very cozy.

Would definitely recommend and stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and clean safe property
Liked least: Kitchen utensils were very average
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Anvil Cottage is beautiful. It is clean and has everything you could possibly need! The bathroom and bedroom are decorated well and the cottage comes with soft towels and super warm heating-especially needed when it was SO cold!
Winchcombe is lovely. We enjoyed exploring the town, walking up to the castle and then venturing into the Church fete! We also felt that the people of the town are super friendly as well! We took a drive to Stanton, Broadway and Chipping Camden and loved every town we visited. We definitely want to stay again and cannot wait for our next visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mervyn221
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean cottage with all amenities and in a great location.”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage is is situated in a little square, with parking for your car. Once in the accommodation everything is neat and compact. Free wi-fi, if needed. Cooking equipment. Nice bath, which I like. The location is excellent for touring the Cotswolds or just walking around Winchcombe, Sudeley Castle and if you like old steam railways, the line is 15 minutes stroll away. Great place to stay for 2 people, recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
102Loulou
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Anvil Cottage was lovely. Perfect location, cosy and comfortable with everything needed for our stay provided. Parking space was a bonus, the car did not move for 3 days. Wonderful walks, pubs, coffee shops, Sudeley Castle and antique shops.
The Corner Cupboard is a fabulous place to eat (although it is best to book in advance).
We would recommend highly and will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness and comfort.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing