We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle with great history”
Review of Sudeley Castle

Sudeley Castle
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Winchcombe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Re-designed and refurbished exhibitions (new for 2018!) telling the story of Sudeley's royal past, Castle rooms, romantic ruins, award-winning gardens and one thousand years of fascinating history are among the many reasons to visit Sudeley Castle & Gardens, which nestles in the Cotswold Hills in the historic town of Winchcombe, Gloucestershire, 8 miles from Broadway. Sudeley is the only privately owned home in England to have a Queen (Katherine Parr, Henry VIII's sixth and last wife) buried within the grounds. With a new visitor route for 2018 which includes Castle rooms - some never before opened to the public, completely re-designed exhibitions, plus a restaurant serving delicious lunches, café, shop, play and picnic area, children's Adventure Fort - BRAND NEW for 2018, Pheasantry and a packed programme of events throughout the season, there is something for everyone at this must-see Cotswolds attraction. Sudeley Castle is open seasonally from March until December.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I had not heard of this castle which has had a great history. Katherine Parr is buried there. The castle is charming with excellent gardens. The recently restored museum areas are very well presented and very informative. A great visit.

Thank Mjhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeley C, Visitor Services Team at Sudeley Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank-you very much for your review!

I will pass on your kind words to the team. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the gardens and recently re-designed exhibition rooms and hope to see you back at Sudeley again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"katherine parr"
in 242 reviews
"tudor history"
in 49 reviews
"lady jane grey"
in 24 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 111 reviews
"stately home"
in 33 reviews
"king henry viii"
in 16 reviews
"private house"
in 18 reviews
"banqueting hall"
in 25 reviews
"resting place"
in 27 reviews
"gardens are beautiful"
in 35 reviews
"terrace cafe"
in 16 reviews
"tudor times"
in 15 reviews
"english history"
in 26 reviews
"open to the public"
in 29 reviews
"on display"
in 47 reviews
"civil war"
in 24 reviews
"knot garden"
in 23 reviews
Filter

96 - 100 of 1 484 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

The castle is, in itself, a lovely building with an interesting history. Enjoy the gardens and the pheasant preserve, but we found that the current owner/inhabitants are so focused on selling themselves (the family badger ranked a movie and room of its own!) and their role in the history of the castle that it starts to feel more like an advertisement than an educational experience. Much of what we saw was qualified with tags like "believed to be," or was simply collected from other places - though not always labeled as such. I appreciate that a private family with industrial money made restoration possible, but sensationalizing history is a turn off for me.

2  Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeley C, Visitor Services Team at Sudeley Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hello! Thank-you for leaving us a review - feedback is always helpful.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the Castle and its beautiful surrounding gardens. A small portion of our exhibitions does indeed focus on the more recent history of the Castle, including the tireless efforts of the current family in caring for Sudeley and creating the treasured visitor attraction it is today. We've historically received lots of requests to learn more about the current family, and so this was included in our exhibition re-design for 2018.

We always aim to be as honest as possible with our labelling and the treasures we have on display, so as not to mislead anybody. We have a hardworking team who research all of our items to provide as accurate information as possible, and plenty of extremely knowledgeable guides and volunteers who will happily expand on the history and provenance of our collection. With regards to the exhibition rooms, we have aimed to showcase what we have alongside relevant information, without providing an overwhelming amount.

We hope to see you back at Sudeley in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We had never heard of this place but were staying inTewksbury and it was recommended as a nearby attraction. It is so worth a vist. Beautiful castle with loads of english history plus amazing gardens and fantastic views across the cotswolds. Just outside a lovely costwold village Winchcombe whichis also worth a visit

Thank jetandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We made a mistake by stopping for lunch at the cafe beside the gift shop not realising there was a restaurant inside the grounds but our premade sandwiches were actually quite good. We enjoyed following the trail of the castle and grounds as outlined on the video when you come in. The exhibition hall & displays were interesting & well done even I who gets bored of reading those kept reading. We enjoyed how the family included & told there story in the history, especially the video of Emma’s diary. The grounds were stunning & well kept, could have easily stayed here.

Thank Christie304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This property is one of the best I've seen for true history being linked to Katherine Parr and the monarchy. The exhibition hall is a fantastic place which fully shows off the history of the place with lots of artifacts & information boards. Reading other reviews about price, I personally thought it extremely well priced and within keeping with other area attractions even before taking the 20% discount offered to National Trust members. Although I didn't take any children there is an excellent adventure playground for them & a rare breeds of pheasants area to look at.
I would have given it 5 stars but for 2 reasons - only a small portion of the castle is open to the public & my wife's asparagus salad had some brown salad leaves & the asparagus didn't appear to be fresh. I personally enjoyed my meal.

Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudeley C, Visitor Services Team at Sudeley Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi Tim,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and found us good value for money. We're very happy with how our exhibition rooms have turned out, having been completely re-designed and refurbished for this year, and it's great to see that you found them enjoyable and informative.

As we remain a family residence, you're right that we can only open up a portion of the Castle to our visitors. We hope that the morning room, library and bedrooms give a good insight into life at Sudeley Castle - both past and present, and we've packed them full of fascinating treasures.

I have passed on your comments about your lunch to our catering team, I'm sorry that it was disappointing. It's rare that our customers are displeased by the quality of our food, so I will make sure this is looked in to.

We hope to see you back at Sudeley in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sudeley Castle also viewed

Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Snowshill, Cotswolds
 

Been to Sudeley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing