We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect home-from-home cottage situated in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yew Tree Barn

Offering luxury accommodation for two.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Offering luxury accommodation for two.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Offering luxury accommodation for two.
The country kitchen with shaker units, electric AGA and butler sink.
Spacious kitchen-diner.
The pocket-sprung mattress and crisp white cotton sheets ensure a restful sleep.
Dual-aspect sitting room.
Enjoy a romantic candlelit dinner.
Enjoy alfresco dining for two.
A Grade-II listed Cotswold stone barn.
Yew Tree is a totally unique cottage in a premium location.
The courtyard garden with Box balls surrounded by traditional Cotswold-stone walls.
Holly trees either side of the stable door make a 'festive' welcome.
The sun streams in all day (weather permitting of course).
Located down a private drive behind the walls of a former dairy farm.
River Eye, Upper Slaughter
Upper Slaughter is within a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
The Slaughters, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kallen89
2 reviews
“A perfect home-from-home cottage situated in a brilliant location for exploring the beautiful cotswolds!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Yew tree barn is a beautiful sweet and cosy cottage with fantastic attention to detail. It has all the latest mod-cons (under-floor heating, 3D TV with netflix-fab for rainy days and a washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher all of which are hidden away so the cottage still feels oldy woldy) without taking away from the character of the cottagey feel. We had a fantastic stay and enjoyed waking up to the church bells ringing and the clip clopping of the local horses each morning.

The best things about the cottage are the bath, shabby chic decor throughout, the bed and quilt and the AGA cooker!!

We had no problems throughout our stay but Sarah is brilliantly welcoming and only lives behind the cottage so never far away.

It is a place that makes you feel immediately relaxed upon arrival and rejuvenated upon your return - a perfect place for exploring.

We visited many places from the cottage such as Bourton on the water, stow on the wold, winchcombe (sudeley castle), chipping campden, Broadway all of which were no further than a 30 min drive. We also went on several scenic walks into lower slaughter and Bourton on the water. Many lovely places to eat nearby although the nearest pub is a 20 min walk away - not a problem for us but may be for others. The lords of the manor restaurant does sell alcohol though and is across the road if it's important for your stay.

A fantastic break which is genuinely great value for money so if you are considering a self catering private getaway - book it now!!!

The only downside to our stay was going home I was very sad to leave such a gorgeous place as we also got engaged here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Wow what an amazing review! Thank you so much and congratulations to you both on your engagement. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn J
1 review
“Beautiful, enchanting hideaway”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I cannot fault my stay in this beautiful little barn. A lot of time and patience has gone into creating such a perfect retreat.

Clean, simplistic, everything one would need to make a holiday or short break unforgettable.

Thank you Sarah

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinChe...
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beyond wonderful!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I'll just keep this short as it seem's pointless to go over the same ground as all the previous reviewers. Hand on heart, I can say this is the most perfect, beautiful, ideally located, well equipped tastefully styled cottage [Country Contemporary Chic] we have ever stayed in.

Sarah who owns Yew Tree Barn is a real gem, going to out of her way to ensure that you enjoy a completely relaxed stress free Cotswolds get away from it all experience.

How many cottages have you stayed in where everything & I mean everything works? Cleanliness of the property is a amazing. Furniture & fittings are of the highest quality & appear brand new, everywhere & everything is spotless. You honestly feel as though you're the first visitor ever to cross the threshold!
Question= How do you keep a cooker that clean? There has to be a secret process? :0)

As said by a previous reviewer, This is a property you would want to own & I want to own this cottage so badly it hurts!
For me, the only thing I'd add is a walk in shower & somewhere nearby to store a bike. This is not meant as a criticism only a suggestion for an addition.

Anyone guessed yet? I REALLY LOVE THIS COTTAGE!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You expect me to single out one thing? Impossible, EVERYTHING!
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just back from a two night stay over the Valentines weekend. This is without doubt the best cottage you will ever stay in, every thing is just perfect, from the quality furnishings and luxurious towls and bedding, to the fact that everything is spotless. But the highlight for us was the red roses and heart shapped chocolates, so thoughtfully left by Sarah.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlie g
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“stylish retreat”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Just what we needed a peaceful luxury break in a beautiful part of the Coltswolds.
The cottage is well equipped and designed to a high standard, has everything you could ask for.
Really looking forward to our return to celebrate my birthday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing