We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch ”
Review of The Hub Cafe

The Hub Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Village Hub in Scarborough is home to both The Hub Cafe and Foragers Deli & Wholefoods Cafe and is perfectly located in a stuning seaside village close to Cape Point and Kalk Bay. The Hub Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from Tuesday to Saturday and until 5pm on Sundays. Bookings essential by phone only. We serve our lunch/dinner menu from 12pm straight through to last orders at 8.30pm - Our Foragers Deli & Wholefoods Cafe downstairs is open 7 days a week from 8am to 6pm for breakfast and lunch. The Deli has lots of fresh home-made goodies such as Chicken Lasagne or Veg & Chickpea Curry (plus more to grab and heat up), sauces, dips, pates, fresh veggies, dairy, roast free-range chickens, Quiches, cheese, free-range eggs....and tons more - perfect to grab as a picnic on your way to the beach. Our mission is to serve as a community resource and gathering place, while providing fresh, high-quality, affordable food to the diverse members of the deep south. We emphasize products from local, organic, and socially responsible sources, and work to build connections between our customers and their farmers.
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

First time here but did not disappoint. Small menu choice but covers most tastes. Food was well presented and very edible and waitrons are very friendly. The atmosphere is quirky and has a homely vibe. Downstairs from the restaurant is a deli and coffee shop owned by the same partnership. Thanks guys good lunch at reasonable prices.

Thank capetownbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks so much! Greatly appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and so happy that you found The Village Hub and enjoyed your time with us! Hope to welcome you back soon.
All the best
Natasha & The Village Hub team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017

When the Hub moved to there much larger premises We went a few times but where disappointed especially at the Food But wanting to support the local community and especially having very fond memories and meals at the old Hub we decided to go back The Food is getting back to its original taste sensation and the Decor and Setting of the new place is great But the Staff still need a lot more Training Service is Slow but maybe thats Scarborough Chilling in Di Far South I wish Kyle & Natasha a lot of Luck and Success in this very big Venture they have undertaken

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roccadaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

The Hub Café is a perfect stop for a coffee or lunch on-route from Cape Town to Cape Point. It’s by the main road; like us you may be thinking you’d like to be by the beach for lunch but we couldn’t find a suitable beach /sea view café so stopped at The Hub Café – a top result. On the ground floor there is a very nice deli, so all food is freshly prepared. There is seating outside at the back, or inside upstairs – but with all of the windows open it feels as if you are outside. The architecture is modern and the décor trendy – I chose fish and chips and they were perhaps the best I had while in South Africa (out of perhaps 15 servings). At 250 ZAR for two people for lunch the price was very reasonable. I wish I lived nearby. It's a nice place to chill out for a few minutes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

What an amazing review! Thank you so much for joining us and taking the time to review us. We are delighted you found the fish so delicious (we only ever use fresh fish). High accolade indeed! All the best on your travels and we hope you come and see us again when next visiting.

Natasha, Kyall & The Viollage Hub team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Waited 45 minutes for simple breakfast order.

Wife had Carne Burrito. Not much meat in it. Mostly egg. Wasnt bad though, but for what we got, fairly overpriced.
I had the Scarborough Special. Tasted really good but also really not what I ordered. Absolutely no haloumi cheese whatsoever.

Bill came to R184 with our drinks. The slip has the cheek of "recommending" between 12 and 15% tip, the recommendation is 10% in South Africa. I was a bit irritated by that.

Ok experience and might come back again but generally a little too overpriced for what you get.

1  Thank WarrenCPace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Hi Warren

Firstly thanks for taking the time to review us. As always we take each review and look into for any complaints.

I've checked into the Burrito's and made sure that the correct amount of meat is in each so we apologise if you felt it was too little. If a customer is missing an ingredient then we ask that you please ask your waitron for the ingredient.

Please also know, price wise, that all our meat in the Burrito's is organic and grass fed which of course is going to cost more than the usual factory reared meat.

As for the time it takes, well, on weekends and public holidays we do get extremely busy and orders can take up to 45 minutes. All our dishes are freshly made to order, so yes, that takes time, especially if there has been a few big tables. You mentioned that your order was "simple" but each order is put into the system and takes it's turn on the pass. So if there were 6 tables ahead of yours, then they of course must be served first.

All the best,
Natasha & The Hub Cafe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Scarborough certainly delivers on its trendy, friendly, good quality cafes and The Hub is no exception with its Deli Cafe. We called in a couple of times whilst cycling around the peninsula. Great, safe storage for bikes, a lovely shaded and peaceful seating area out back and a great friendly team serving. Although their was a sign indicating orders should be placed at the counter, the guys were happy to take orders and payment from the tables. I can't fault the place, great range of food and drink on the menu, excellent and bursting at the seams pitta breads, and one of the best wood fired oven pizza's I've had in Cape Town (salmon trout nom!). Another gem of a find for me and highly recommended, and my first port of call on future rides out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bokafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Hey Bokafrica, all the way from Newcastle! Thanks so much, your review of us is awesome and we are so delighted that you found us and enjoyed you experience here at The Village Hub. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you will introduce yourself so we can put a face to the name as such!!

All the best and happy, safe cycling...
Natasha & The Village Hub team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hub Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hub Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing