We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome food chilled atmosphere”
Review of The Hub Cafe

The Hub Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Village Hub in Scarborough is home to both The Hub Cafe and Foragers Deli & Wholefoods Cafe and is perfectly located in a stuning seaside village close to Cape Point and Kalk Bay. The Hub Cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from Tuesday to Saturday and until 5pm on Sundays. Bookings essential by phone only. We serve our lunch/dinner menu from 12pm straight through to last orders at 8.30pm - Our Foragers Deli & Wholefoods Cafe downstairs is open 7 days a week from 8am to 6pm for breakfast and lunch. The Deli has lots of fresh home-made goodies such as Chicken Lasagne or Veg & Chickpea Curry (plus more to grab and heat up), sauces, dips, pates, fresh veggies, dairy, roast free-range chickens, Quiches, cheese, free-range eggs....and tons more - perfect to grab as a picnic on your way to the beach. Our mission is to serve as a community resource and gathering place, while providing fresh, high-quality, affordable food to the diverse members of the deep south. We emphasize products from local, organic, and socially responsible sources, and work to build connections between our customers and their farmers.
Reviewed 10 April 2017

After a day on one of the nearby beaches this is a cool place to unwind. Pies are great so are the sandwiches. Pizza is surprisingly good too. Shop is a little pricey.

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Hi David - many thanks for taking the time to review us, and happy you found our delicious pizzas!.. We strive to keep our prices low in our deli shop, but wholefoods, organic veggies & organic produce does not come cheap as I'm sure you can imagine. We sell only the best produce from well sourced independent grass fed, free range farmers and veg/fruit suppliers, doing away with mass production and as such supporting the locals.

All the best
Natasha & The Village Hub team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We spent a fortnight cycling in Cape Town and stopped at the Hub twice, once for a snack and once for a more substantial lunch. It's quite popular and tables fill quickly - you may need to share a table on some of the longer tables. There are good sturdy cycle racks for stowing ones bike, although one end of the rack is right up against the children's play area and we had to go and move bikes out of reach of little hands at one point - that typical conflict issue where non-cyclist parents think its adoringly cute that their little angels are spinning the nice wheels, and where cyclists descent into red mists of rage when anyone under the age of thirty so much as comes within three foot of their expensive carbon toys. Or in other words, this is definitely a cycle friendly cafe, but it caters to a wider audience, particularly as it's a part of a wider enterprise, like Foragers Deli which has a breathtaking selection of organic, home made, locally made or baked goods. (We only briefly explored this section to buy some emergency baklava and ice cream). The cycle-related T-shirts and knickknack were sweet.

The service was prompt yet chilled. We had a wrap and a filled pita the first visit, with decent coffees. Both meals were substantial and delicious. Second time we both had pizzas, which were properly thin and crispy with generous toppings - special mention to the "Misty Cliffs" with spicy chicken which was what I'll definitely be having again next time. It's goes perfectly with a bottle (or two) of Windhoek draught beer.

If you're cycling round the peninsula, this is definitely a place to call in. Having passed it so many times in the past before without any curiosity, I'm very glad we found it and we will be using it again.

Thank A Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks so much for being one of the many awesome cyclists that stop in with us and we are delighted that you did! Sorry about the kids...maybe one day they will grow up to be awesome cyclist!!!

Have an awesome weekend ahead and enjoy this lovely rain we are having today!!

All the best and looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Natasha, Kyall, Ivan & The Village Hub team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I love eating here! Beautiful simple menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner with great specials board. And friendly staff. Top choice in the Deep South!

Thank Donnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Thanks so much for your review - we are happy that you are happy!!

All the best for a great week ahead.

Natasha & The Hub Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

When in Scarborough you must stop here for a bite to eat or just a cup of coffee or a fabulous smootie. Bag a seat at a table on the deck and watch the world go by......

Thank ThatNiceCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

And what a "fabulouscouple" you were and so happy that you found us and enjoyed your time relaxing and watching the world go by (albeit at a fairly relaxed pace!)

Thanks so much!

All the best
Natasha and the Hub Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I arrived with a group of 5 to The Hub Cafe and we were told we can sit at the table that was booked for other people that were arriving an hour and a half later. We realized we have only around an hour or so before we have to head to another place so we decided to take the table, order two rounds of drinks and 5 meals.

Food is totally acceptable, we all enjoyed it, finished our meal and drinks half an hour before other guests were supposed to arrive, ordered the bill and waited.

Twenty minutes later, after still waiting to pay our bill we were literally chased away from the table, forced to the paying station and told that we have to pay 10% service fee.

Considering I was here with overseas clients, so the purpose of our visit was business, I tried to talk to the manager and explain I don't feel we were treated professionally. He literally told me his attitude is absolutely fine and I should go away.

In 15 years of traveling around the world, 3 different continents, many different countries I have never been so shocked!
Thumbs down for the attitude. I am not expecting a first class service from a place like this, but just a common decency when it comes to managing basic communication with customers.

If you happen to drive by, keep driving, Peninsula has much more to offer!

Thank Bisera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubCafe1, Owner at The Hub Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hi Bisera

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and thanks for your positive comments on the food. Your feedback re the service have been duly noted.

All the best
Natasha, & The Hub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hub Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Scarborough, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hub Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing