We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation of a very high standard...”
This is Doughton Barns, for 17, and can be all yours for the week or  weekend, in our quiet hamlet.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is Doughton Barns, for 17, and can be all yours for the week or  weekend, in our quiet hamlet.
Dining area and fully equipped  kitchen,range cooker, marble worktop.Under floor heating throughout. `Wow`!, a common reaction to the huge but cosy living area at the centre of Doughton Barn. .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This is Doughton Barns, for 17, and can be all yours for the week or  weekend, in our quiet hamlet.
Dining area and fully equipped  kitchen,range cooker, marble worktop.Under floor heating throughout.
`Wow`!, a common reaction to the huge but cosy living area at the centre of Doughton Barn. .
West end of Doughton Barn; southern garden with original well (safety grill);chairs/table on patio
East end of Doughton Barn at sunrise .
The oak table laid for your atmospheric dinner.It can extend to seat 20 comfortably.
Doughton Manor  [front page Country Life, May 2012]  beyond the barns private drive and parking area
Light,spacious with cosy log fire; great location for your large group or extended family gathering.
The loggia groundfloor  twin bedroom,very spacious,ideal for wheelchair access.
The loggia twin has a large ensuite wetroom,  wheelchair friendly.
The groundfloor `Blue room` with a kingsize double bed and window looking out to the south garden.
The `Blue room` with ensuite shower.Top quality fixtures, as in all bathroom/showers.
Spacious loggia family bedroom with 3 singles. Oil fired radiator heating in all 1st floor bedrooms.
The gallery k/size bedroom,full of character with original beams.It leads to the minstrel`s gallery.
The rolling Cotswolds. Enjoy walks from your front door across the surrounding farmland
The  eastern end offers a second  sitting/dining/kitchen room if you want some peace and quiet!
Light and spacious it leads out to the patio and south garden.Also a cosy log fire for winter nights
The `red` twin bedroom with gabled roof , overlooks the south garden.Large bathroom/shower next door
The `brown` twin, with  a special view of the Elizabethan Manor house.Bathroom/shower close by.
King size bedroom with quality ensuite bathroom/shower . Beautiful view overlooking the moat/garden
Loads of room in the king size ensuite
Groundfloor kingsize double with ensuite wetroom. Wheelchair access
St Mary`s steeple soars over Tetbury, a historic  market town. 1 mile drive or beautiful 1/2 hr walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Tetbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gfbhjljhu
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation of a very high standard suitable for large get togethers.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the combined Dovecote and Pantiles accommodation for a University reunion, now nearly 20 years after leaving University! The accommodation is of a high standard and very clean, not just the general rooms but also the kitchen equipment and bathrooms. It is well equiped, comfortable and spacious. We appreciated the provision of washing up liquid/cloths/tea towels and toilet roll! The owners were very welcoming and helpful and were happy for us to walk around some of their farmland and meet the ponies, pigs and ducks, which the children enjoyed. We even had a cake made for us on arrival which was delicious. It is child friendly accommodation. There is a pond nearby in the farm grounds but individual gardens are walled off and the owner does clearly point this out on your arrival and certainly i don't feel it should stop anyone from visiting.
it is well located for sightseeing in a pretty area. Westonbirt arboretum is nearby and Bath and Cirencester a short drive away. Tetbury is nice for pubs and small local shops. There are details of local walks within the cottages and maps which was helpful. There is a Tesco in Tetbury and local food shops too.
The only thing i would say the cottages miss is a music system.
I would highly recommend the accommodation and area as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and space
Liked least: Having to only stay for 3 days!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you for this very positive and helpful review. It was great to see everyone enjoying the surroundings. We find it difficult to keep an ipod dock in the house without it getting broken, but will look again into a system for music playing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliziaD
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning yet cosy, perfect”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Several of us had a long weekend at the barn. There was a lovely welcome and clear directions for equipment etc.. The building and layout were fantastic. Plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms which makes it easy to sort out sleeping arrangements if different families are involved. The beds were so comfy I slept like a log! Living space was excellent, great communal areas and so much space that if you wanted a quieter area or games set up area for kids, you have plenty of room to do so. It helped having excellent weather but even if it were cold it would be lovely with the log fires and cosy sofas. There were plenty of decent quality bedding and towels, crockery, glasses etc. The only downside (a small one) was that there could have been more serving type dishes & serving spoons etc. should you want to serve at the table. We would definitely recommend the barn, and certainly wish to re-visit ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you for your positive and helpful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. I will certainly get more serving spoons and dishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elderleyt...
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay, especially a large family”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My three grown up children, spouses and ten grandchildren have all said what a wonderful place to visit, the two barns were very well equipped and had everything we needed, in fact this was our second visit to Doughton, hopefully we will visit again

There were lots of lovely walks nearby, a lovely place for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge kitchen, diner sitting room
Liked least: Internet access a bit unreliable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suchipate...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very well equipped and beautiful setting”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at this cottage recently for a reunion with some friends. There was 17 of us, and one baby. The cottage is close to rail links from london, and not too far off the motorway. It was perfectly laid out for us as a large cook. The two separate areas meant that we could make plenty of noise, but not a single bit of noise could be heard in the adjoining part of the cottage (joined by literally a door - no need to remove shoes...) which was great for the baby.. There were two kitchens which we could use, a lovely dining table and exposed beams. All the rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms and en-suites plentiful. The owners are very nice, and we even got a yummy victoria sponge from Sue when we arrived! Thank you so much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. we are very encouraged by it and will keep it up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jit-V
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Cottage(s) for a large group”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

15 of us occupied both cottages for a reunion weekend. We always choose different cottages each year, and this years choice of the Doughton cottages was a fabulous one. The location is fantastic, picturesque, and car parking was ample for our convoy of cars. Both cottages are joined by a large lounge/kitchen, which housed a long dining table able to accommodate our entire group. Very warm bedrooms, and power showers ensured a comfortable stay. The cottage owners made an effort to greet us and were very welcoming. We are considering returning again (which we have never done for any previous cottage!).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$860
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing