We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Washbrook Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Stables (bring your own horse possible, email for more details)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
allanosbo...
Tyne and Wear, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Without question, this is a lovely cottage that is located near to Painswick on a former farm. The cottage is comfortable and generally well equipped. On arrival, my family and I were greeted by a gift basket - which was a nice touch by the owners of the cottage. Although the owners of the cottage were away on our arrival, they were extremely helpful during the booking process via the message system on TripAdvisor- they even kindly loaned us some deck chairs so that we could visit the Bristol International Balloon Fiesta. We could not fault the cottage or owners, but cannot rate the cottage as 5 stars. Why? We are regular visitors to a Visit Britain Gold rated cottage in Cumbria - which we consider to be 5 stars. We had also recently returned from a cottage in Jersey rated 5 stars. So, what would make this cottage 5 stars? Some suggestions include a refresh (as the cottage is looking tired in places), an electric fan (as the inside of the cottage reached 29 degrees Celsius during our visit because of the hot summer and always on Aga), one hand and one bath towel for each guest on arrival, some washing up liquid and a few dish washer tablets to start off with, a tea towel, cleaning cloth, and some information about the bins/recycling - all of which are minor things that would make all of the difference. Would we go back? No, but not because we didn’t like it - only because we would choose to stay in a different area of the Cotswolds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Teres...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just came back from 5 nights away and had a great time Washbrook Cottage was a lovely comfortable place to stay beautifully done and had everything one would need highly recommend. Ideally place to stay to see lots of places loved Broadway, Bought-on-the-water and Lower Slaughter, great time with family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genna237
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely cottage in excellent condition throughout. Friendly welcome too.
Good cooking facilities,and we enjoyed eating outside in the sunshine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderlus...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A tranquil and luxurious escape”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in February 2017

Washbrook cottage was for me the perfect place to escape the hustle, bustle and daily grind of life, a week here left me feeling refreshed and re-energised.
Nestled in the beautiful Cotswold countryside, wild deer grazing in the garden (if your up early)ponys at the end of the garden and the sound of birdsong and the stream that runs through was all that interrupted my stay here.
The cottage itself was finished to the highest standard, it was spotless on arrival and the Aga and log burner was such a treat keeping us toasty warm even in February.
Nicki and Nic where wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble and their recommendations for places to visit and eat where spot on. (Try St Micheals if you get the chance and a visit to Stroud Saturday farmers market.)
Thanks so much for having us - we can't wait to return!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DKL-7
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a very pleasant long weekend at Washbrook Cottage which is situated in Painswick, a very pretty area of the Cotswolds. You can walk into Painswick along the Cotswold Way - the village has a couple of pubs and a nice café. It is a good base to explore the towns and villages of the Cotswolds. The cottage itself was very well-equipped and spacious (we were four adults and two children). The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. All in all, highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing