We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic cottage, tastefully finished and set in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Washbrook Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Stables (bring your own horse possible, email for more details)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara P
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage, tastefully finished and set in a beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

When I saw the cottage online it looked so wonderful and the reviews were so fantastic that I was concerned I could only be disappointed, but how wrong can you be. The communications from the start were speedy and very helpful. The owners were very receptive to our party's needs and provided nearly everything we needed for our stay, making the whole experience extremely easy and relaxing. When we drove along the lane towards the cottage we were all delighted with how picturesque it was and when we went inside were so pleased with the quality of the cottage, the furniture and the attention to detail that has gone into it. The layout is perfect and provided a wonderful family holiday. The owners really have thought of everything, including proving BBQ and utensils for a much enjoyed evening in the garden, and proving all the items required for a wonderful picnic in the countryside. The children had a fantastic time and were sad to leave. I would really recommend this cottage to all age groups and are already looking at re-booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail that has gone into the cottage and the helpfulness of the owners
Liked least: Leaving. Can't find anything bad to say. Loved it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
1 review
“The attention to detail within the cottage is outstanding.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Apologies if my title review spoils any surprises on arrival but honestly, the thought that has gone into this relatively new conversion and its ongoing development as a holiday let to suit the area is amazing. It doesn't matter whether you are the intrepid Cotswold Way explorer type, just looking for somewhere to chill out, or use it as a base for car jaunts to wherever takes your fancy this cottage and setting takes a lot of beating!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky mirror reflection opposite the upstairs bedroom and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: The single traffic lane to the property...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
140SJS
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic, Cosy, Comfortable”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I were pleasantly surprised at just what a beautiful setting Washbrook Cottage sits in. The cottage provided very cosy and comfortable living for any time of year. Coming back to the warmth of the Aga after any amount of beautiful walks nearby was a delight! The owners are genuinely friendly and helpful and happy to provide information or to enhance your stay.
I would have no hesitation staying at Washbrook again for a restful and beautiful place to unwind and take in the natural beauty of the surrounding areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: That its not completely private (to be picky)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linalot1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Washbrook Cottage is amazing.
Location is fantastic, so close to Painswick.
The owner Nicki was very helpful.
As there was no one in before us, we were allowed to arrive before lunchtime!
We stayed there with our grown up children and our new Grandson.
Everyone enjoyed their stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanH82
Chandlers Ford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Cottage - What a place to stay!”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Having stayed in a few cottages in the last few years, I was absolutely stunned at just how nice this cottage is. Every single detail has been well considered, and the owners are absolutely lovely. The linen is top-notch quality (even the towels!), and the welcome hamper is a lovely touch.

With a young baby, we were offered a high chair and fire guard to protect the little one. We were even provided with a cot for our baby, a high quality one, not a folding travel cot.

The cottage is appreciably out in the woods, so it's lovely and quiet. However, it's extremely easy to find by road, so just fire up your Sat Nav and you'll find it with no problems.

There are TVs in every room, Bluray and Freesat in the lounge with a large screen TV, and a nice wood-burner stove which we didn't need to try thanks to the central heating. The large dining room table is enough to seat 6 people comfortably (plus baby!). The lounge has 2 sofas and 2 chairs, so that if you have 6 people in the cottage, they all have a seat! Often overlooked in other cottages.

The whole feel of the cottage is extremely high end, and definitely feels like a 5 star cottage. Thoroughly enjoyed staying here, and strongly recommend it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing