We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, spacious and welcoming accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious kitchen dining room (seats 10) - ideal for a celebration meal!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Spacious kitchen dining room (seats 10) - ideal for a celebration meal!
Master bedroom with four poster bed and full en-suite
Double aspect living room with three sofas on which to relax watching the flatscreen LCD TV
Double aspect living room - use the free WiFi on your laptop/phone
Double en-suite bedroom
Twin bedroom - one
Twin bedroom - two
Test your skills on the full size table tennis table!
Front lawn
Rear courtyard garden
Market square showing the 500-year-old Kings Arms just 5 minutes walk from Birch House
Lane running down from the market square with Cotswold stone buildings
Another view of the Market Square in Stow
Nearby Burford is renowned for its ancient architectural treasures, some date from the 15th Century
Chipping Campden, 15 minutes' drive away
Broadway Tower, 20 minutes' drive away
A local pub with views of the Cotswold hills
Blenheim Palace is well worth a visit and only 25 minutes' drive away
Stow in the cold!
Map of the Cotswolds
View from Well Lane, around the corner from the house
Market square showing one of the many inns and local stone buildings
Old lane leading towards the Market Square, across from the house
Bourton-on-the-Water, known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds', only ten minutes' drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irit G
Sherman, Connecticut
1 review
“Comfortable, spacious and welcoming accommodation”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a great stay at Birch House - our second time coming over from the U.S. It's perfectly located and accommodates all our children and grandchildren. We had a lovely time and would recommend this home to anyone wishing for a great place to stay in the beautiful Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Number of bedrooms and well stocked kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sportsfan...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Christmas ”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My family and I stayed here for a weekend as we won't see them at Christmas. It was wonderful to have us all stay in the same place and we had travelled from different locations, both north and south of the country.

Samantha, the owner, was absolutely brilliant through out the booking and so helpful, especially with recommendations for eating etc in the village.

The house was in the perfect location and the entertaining space was great, the table tennis especially went down well.

We will 100% keep birch house in mind for next year's visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenM608...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious and well equipped”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Ideal for a family get-together - good bedrooms with plenty of bathrooms. Feel owners should could check regularly. We had to mend broken dining chair, ceiling lights in kitchen loose from ceiling and my shower had a large black actively growing mould. Sorry to be negative but this was not pleasant. Ideally placed to walk into the village.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalesSuzy
wales
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Birch House suited our family very well. We were 5 adults, one 5 year old and a 16 month old. The house was clean, spacious, well equipped and had an excellent location to walk to the town and to drive to nearby attractions.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrandmrsL...
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We went to Birch House with our family including 2 children under 4. House was exceptionally clean - bedding, towels, bathrooms, etc. Plenty of room for a large group so you are not under each other's feet! Having 3 bathrooms was a definite bonus! The kitchen is fully equipped with a large fridge freezer and washing machine/ dryer. It was also the perfect location to explore many other towns and villages. There are many places to take the children including play parks, a zoo and farm parks where you can spend the whole day. It's only 5 minutes walk into the market square where you will find it hard to choose where to eat as the restaurants/pubs all serve excellent food. I just wish we'd had more than one week as there were so many places to visit we didn't get to see them all. Fantastic, memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing