We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house and facilities”
Open plan, contemporary layout with connected lounge, dining room and kitchen areas
 (02/2018)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan, contemporary layout with connected lounge, dining room and kitchen areas
 (02/2018)
Books, games, DVDs available Double room with king-size bed, en-suite shower room and glazed window door to verandah (06/2014)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Open plan, contemporary layout with connected lounge, dining room and kitchen areas
 (02/2018)
Books, games, DVDs available
Double room with king-size bed, en-suite shower room and glazed window door to verandah (06/2014)
En-suite shower room to ground floor double bedroom (06/2014)
View into the lounge from the top bedroom
40' 4K Ultra HD Smart TV with Blu-ray player and log-burning stove 
(02/2018)
Top floor double room with en-suite bathroom and vaulted ceiling (02/2018)
en-suite bathroom to top floor double room (06/2014)
Ground floor twin room with family bathroom (06/2014)
Mid-floor bedroom with full (adult) size bunk bed (06/2014)
Ground floor bedroom with full (adult) size bunk bed and glazed window door to verandah (06/2014)
Fully equipped kitchen - 2x electric ovens, gas hob and microwave
Comfortable dining for ten guests (11/2013))
Stairs to top floor
Stairgates provided on ground floor and at entrance to lounge
Secluded property located 1 minutes walk from the on-site spa
The trout pond from the first floor balcony, sit and watch the fish jump! (06/2014)
Contemporary glazing with views over the Lower Mill 'Trout Pond' (03/2014)
Luxury spa complex - indoor and outdoor heated pools, sauna, steam room and gym
Indoor, heated, slate-lined pool
Slate-lined heated outdoor pool (seasonal)
spa reception
luxury spa changing rooms
Childrens' playground at Lower Mill
The Ballihoo restaurant and shop - exclusively for those staying on the estate
Bike, Canoe, Kayak and SUP hire available on the estate
One of the many scuptures on the estate
Somerford Lagoon, Lower Mill Estate at dawn (03/2014)
A warm welcome awaits you at Trout Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent house and facilities”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the house as a group of 10 friends last weekend. The house was very nice, living up to the photographs and very well equipped, with everything we needed in the kitchen for preparing meals. Nice to have things like fairy liquid, sponges and dishwasher tablets provided.
The beds were all very comfortable. The bunkbed rooms were quite a bit smaller than the others, but the beds were plenty big enough for adults.
Although the house only has one allocated parking space, there was a car park only 2 minutes walk away so that was not a problem.
The spa was very nice and close to the house, we were lucky with weather and made full use of the outdoor pool, though the indoor pool looked nice too.
We were very impressed with the house, and the owners were also very helpful when booking and answering queries. We would definitely consider returning in the future.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that your group enjoyed your time at Lower Mill. We hope to host you again in the future.
Note to those reading this review: the majority of houses on Lower Mill only have one parking space so additional cars have to be parked in the 'overflow' car parks but indeed it is just a short walk away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful reunion weekend”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I was planning a reunion weekend away for 10 friends and came across Trout Lodge on Tripadvisor, the location and price looked perfect! I have to say that when we arrived it was much higher than my expectations (not to say that my expectations were low too!) The lodge is perfect, overlooking a small lake that even had swans in it. Everything we could have needed for cooking mass dinners, the whole place is finished to a high standard with obviously lots of care and thought too. Over the weekend we took advantage of the spa which is a two minute walk away, walked around the beautiful lakes and generally had time to hangout and catch up in a very relaxing environment!A wonderful weekend, that will be remembered for a very long time. Thank you Tim and Suzanne!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
We also stay at Trout Lodge with our friends, it really is a great place to relax. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donkeyhat...
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a wonderful house couldn't have asked for more it has everything and more that you could want or need on your stay. The estate is very well laid out and can thoroughly recommend the spa. Having breakfast in the sun trap deck is a must if you can which we were lucky enough to have the weather for. Tim is a very helpful host and even emailed while we were there to ensure we were enjoying our stay, a lovely touch. Thank you

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I wish we could claim credit for the weather as well, but ongoing feedback and recommendations for what to include ensures that all of our guests have a great stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosdods
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Really lovely house, great for large groups like ours. Very relaxing, we found everything we could possibly need for a family break and more!. We loved the open plan aspect of the first floor living area, there is a lovely, light roomy feel to the lounge/dining/kitchen areas. If you're looking for somewhere special to stay, this is it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Our own personal experiences of catering for large groups has helped us ensure that the facilities at Trout Lodge are suitable for larger groups, but we also welcome smaller groups and families. A warm welcome to all our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inlikef
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Like clockwork, but with lots of care.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

So for my first ever review :) I can't help but share the joy this time. When you are away you want someone to take the pain away from the organising, you want facilities to work and you want to feel you are not at a travel lodge, or a self catering franchise. The owners of trout lodge have done a fabulous job. They organise the process, they clearly layout the facilities, the facilities including cutlery, pans, dishes are way above average which makes a difference for catering standards particularly when the group is bigger. There are lots of homely touches, but also lots of touches from the owners to really improve the experience, they go way beyond normal levels of service. The venue was great also, we had 3 families with young children and managed to enjoy one sunny day and even one english day by using the pool and spa and cafe onsite, and a great dvd selection, with above average technology to enjoy it on. Well done and thank you to Suzanne and TIm ... see you next year.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you, we are pleased that you found the equipment and facilities suitable for your group and that helped you enjoy all that Lower Mill has to offer. We aim to provide facilities for both large and small groups using Trout Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$300
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing