We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with riendly, helpful staff.”

Cotswold Country Park & Beach
Ranked #17 of 42 things to do in Cirencester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located within the Cotswold Water Park, the Cotswold Country Park & Beach is a fantastic day out for all to enjoy. Brand new to the Park is the inflatable AquaVenture - leap, splash and slide, the greatest activity to hit the Cotswolds. Head to the soft sandy inland beach with lifeguarded lagoon all summer long. Enjoy lakeside walks, delicious food from fish and chips & stone baked pizzas to tempting cakes and ice creams or hire a BBQ pitch and enjoy a picnic. The lake offers fun for all from pedalos and rowing boats, to electric Mini port boats and water walkerz. Paddle out on a kayak or SUP with tuition available. There are plenty of activities on-land too, from crazy golf and adventure playgrounds to climbing walls and volley ball - The perfect day out for all, we offer great party packages to! Book online today and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great time here today. Had a picnic by the lake, spent a few hours on the beach and then headed to the huge inflatable course. The staff we met were all friendly and helpful. I was particularly impressed by lifeguards Tom and David who went on the inflatable with my 11 year old son to ensure he had the most fun possible - which he did. Thank you.

Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for your wonderful review and for taking the time to mention two of our lifeguards who we will send on our thanks to.
We look forward to seeing you again at the Park and Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"open water swimming"
in 7 reviews
"adventure park"
in 5 reviews
"play ground"
in 3 reviews
"disposable bbqs"
in 3 reviews
"sunny day"
in 9 reviews
"whole family"
in 4 reviews
"value for money"
in 9 reviews
"visited today"
in 3 reviews
"aquaventure"
in 5 reviews
"playground"
in 12 reviews
"wetsuits"
in 5 reviews
"barbecue"
in 6 reviews
"seaside"
in 5 reviews
"dogs"
in 12 reviews
"fab"
in 7 reviews
"sunshine"
in 5 reviews
"doorstep"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we went for a stag & hen do. We all had such great fun. The water was cold, but it was a Lake so to be expected. You could also hire wetsuits which the older children did. Expect a few bruises along the way. First glance you automatically think children's floats, but you would be fooled to think that. It is hard going but great fun. The only downfall although they have big changing rooms. Public no private cubicles, there are no showers. There are toilets (did not use them) also picnic tables (could do with replacing) and cafe and outdoor cafe too. The kids loved the boating lake. One family member took their own Bodyboard - no cost to go on the lake. Parking only free if you have booked an activity

Thank das50david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit to the Country Park and we had a great day! Busy but found a spot close to the beach. All pretty clean and tidy considering number of people there. We felt quite uncomfortable letting our youngest run about freely as there were so many disposable BBQs perched on bricks, stones or just in the grass.

Parking did seem to be a bit of a disaster, we were told five hundred cars had to leave from a triathlon that morning, we were shown to a parking spot on grass by an older gentleman, who was very clearly flustered and parking cars poorly, several people were immediately blocked in. We could see a young lady trying to take over but he wouldn't let her, causing havoc. We also noticed that where we parked there were hundreds of baby frogs in the grass, which made us wonder whether it really was parking or panic of where to put people.

Lovely day out though, and we will revisit.

1  Thank CaroF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, if you know for sure the weather is going to be great, then do pre book. You can pre book up to the night before. We went on Saturday 23rd June most recently and I booked at about 22.00 on Friday night with no issues. I saw another review from someone else in Bristol which we also live at, who claimed the need to pre book sometimes made it locals only, which is nonsense! Yesterday as it happened we arrived at about 10.30 expecting big queues as it was baking hot, but we rolled straight in with no queue, which surprised us. I cant fault the place. The beach is perfect if you have younger kids as the tide never goes in or out (obviously), the water depth gradient is spot on, and on a hot day it as actually warm by the afternoon. The development to the parks, toilets and catering in the last year has made it even more of an enjoyable day out.
I love the fact that you have the choice of sitting on the grass or on the beach, it just caters for all tastes.
I think the parking even at £16.00 in the summer holidays is great value for a family day out in such a well set up environment. The whole family absolutely loves it and we will make it our first choice for a beach day for many years to come. I don't understand why Bristolians head for the grim waters of Weston Super Mare or Brean when this is the on our doorstep

Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for your lovely review! We are so thrilled you had a lovely day and Thankyou for mentioning about booking online and we are delighted you found it easy on your most recent visit.
The park have invested heavily this year to ensure a great day out for all and this investment continues with further enhancements ongoing.
We really look forward to seeing you again soon! We have an afternoon offer of just £5.00 from 3pm -6pm for the next two weeks until the 6th July if your close by!
Enjoy this beautiful weather and many thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don’t live far from the park so visit regularly in the summer with the children. I think it’s good value, £10.90 for a car with up to five people. You should pre book and get here early at weekends, otherwise expect long queues and being turned away. The toilets are often in a bad state even first thing, which is not great. The water temperature is pleasant by June and my children and I enjoy swimming in the lake, however the swimming space is very limited and cordoned off with a line of buoys. There are plenty of hats where you can buy drinks and food, however we usually bring our own food. If you walk to the far end there is also a playground, which is where I usually make a base as the children can warm up and play there when they get out of the water.
On our last visit some lifeguards were patrolling the beach and made up a lot of rules about children not being allowed to dig holes in the sand (really?) and not taking their floaty boat in. I did complain about this and I think if this was to happen again we would rather visit the lido in Cirencester.

Thank Juljen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review the park and beach. We are so pleased your children enjoy swimming in the lagoon area and the playing in the new in 2017 adventure playground - it’s such a great day out with beach play and countryside combined. We have a pizzeria, beach shack serving fantastic burgers and a gelato with delicious ice creams and we also welcome families to bring their own picnics too!
Our lifeguards patrol for the safety of all swimmers and the inflatables are kept out of the water so the lifeguards can see all the water. This is simply for the safety of those swimming and paddling.The lifeguards asking not to dig very deep holes is just for the enjoyment of all, there can be little ones walking around and we hope to again ensure the enjoyment for all - normal sand holes are fine of course! We really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cotswold Country Park & Beach also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cotswold Country Park & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing