We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ellenborough Park
Nearby Hotels
US$158
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 468)
Filter reviews
1 468 results
Traveller rating
1 041
234
125
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 041
234
125
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolbeaufort dining roomboot roomafternoon teathe fine dining restaurantmain buildingbeautiful hotelclassic roomluxury roomcheltenham race coursesconessteam room and saunaspa facilitiescountry housefive star hotelfour poster bedattention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1 468 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We were looking forward to an interesting stay in this historic hotel. Interesting it was, but not necessarily as we had hoped! Yes, the room was well appointed but had the thinnest loo paper I have encountered in an hotel for many years, the clock was an hour wrong, wardrobe light didn't work. Good range of shower products though. The grounds are extensive and it is in a quiet location and you can see the race course. BUT the breakfast....yes they did have a lot of staff but mostly chatting to one another or standing round. Once seated, it was about 10 minutes until someone took the order for tea and coffee. Then 15 minutes until tea arrived. Another 15 minutes until the waiter took the order for the cooked breakfast. Then around half an hour until it arrived. My poached egg and haddock was just that ( see pictures). Husband's egg Benedict was tasteless. No garnish on either. And almost cold. The whole thing took over an hour and a quarter. I'm happy to choose to spend that long over breakfast but not when it's because service is that slow and the end result so poor. I rarely give such a poor rating but felt that this experience falls so far short of how a 5* hotel should be and how disinterested the staff were.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rutlandreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenboroughpark2017, Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Rutlandreviewer,

Thank you for your feeddack, although I was of course really very disappointed to read your experience at breakfast. I have shared this with the head chef & restaurant manager so I am very thankful for you taking the time to share this with us.

Kindest Regards,
Louise Armstrong
Operations Manager
Ellenborough Park Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Lovely building staff very welcoming and lovely surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble and couldn't fault our stay. View overlooking Cheltenham racecourse and a nice walk around the grounds, heated outdoor pool which was being used and told by those in it that it was nice and warm.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenboroughpark2017, Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Dean K,

We're so pleased that you enjoyed our visit to us so much! I have shared your feedback with the team, many thanks.

Kind Regards
Louise Armstrong
Operations Manager
Ellenborough Park Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We’ve just returned from a spa package deal that we got through the main website. Our rate included a spa treatment (which we added to) plus dinner, bed and breakfast. All though a few minor hiccups in the room we really had a brilliant time.

Staff - all staff that we came into contact with were fantastic! Especially the lady working Sunday lunchtime in the horse box, she went above and beyond and even bought out a little plate saying “happy birthday” for my partner and some truffles. Wish I knew her name. Another mention to all of the ladies in the spa, who were lovely!! I think it was Sheila (dark haired lady) and another blonde lady that did our treatments - highly recommend, they were fab!!

The spa - quite small but nice. We didn’t use the facilities much, we mainly just went for our treatments. Not sure how it would be on a busy Saturday but as we were there late Sunday afternoon it was perfectly quiet and relaxed. Could have used the outdoor heated pool, but we decided against it as we went off for our treatments and we were too tired after to go back.

Food - the lunch we had at the Horse Box was really hearty with lots of taste, the burgers we both had were probably the best we’d ever tasted. The three courses we had in the restaurant were OK... although not blown away. The canapés and home made pesto bread were a nice touch and it had a really cosy atmosphere.

The Room - big four poster bed, walk in shower and a bath, so good first impressions. Loved how there were speakers in the bathroom ceiling so we could listen to music whilst in the shower - linked to the telly! The view from our room was stunning as well, with lovely lead windows that opened out onto all the pretty surroundings. The swing attached to the large tree seemed to be a popular attraction! Only niggle being our air con didn’t work and the room was sweltering. We didn’t really notice how bad it was until we went to sleep, but by that point we felt there was no point ringing reception and having the hassle of someone visiting the room to sort it. Likewise in the morning we didn’t have cups small enough to fit under the coffee machine, again not the end of the world but a bit of a pain not to have a hot drink in our room. We didn’t bother phoning reception as we were heading for breakfast anyway. As we checked out we did let the hotel know so at least the next person staying in the room had it sorted.

All in all a really stunning hotel, we will return but make sure the air con works firstly without leaving it to the last minute and probably give the restaurant another blast but eat something else from the menu. Again, the staff were incredible!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank EmRay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenboroughpark2017, Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear EmRay16,

We really appreciate your review, many thanks! Particularly as you have taken the time to give us such detailed feedback. I have shared this with the team, in addition to addressing the air conditioning within the room- we're sorry that we couldn't resolve this before your stay.

Hope to see you soon!

Kindest Regards,
Louise Armstrong
Operations Manager
Ellenborough Park Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Situated overlooking Prestbury Park ,the Ellenborough is the perfect hotel for your stay in the Cheltenham area .The manager Oliver ,and his team offer Five Star service throughout. From the fine dining restaurant to the cosy bar there is a feeling of tranquillity and comfort combined with top class food and service . A special mention for Lana who is always on hand in the Bar to offer any assistance with a pleasant word and a smile . Well done to all .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Maurice Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We had room 58 and found it very noisy; it was next to a service room so during the day there was constant coming and going and laundry just dumped in the small hallway or outside the door. Quite poor for somewhere advertised as 5 star.

Meals were also a little disappointing. The sea trout with cooked chilli and chorizo was cooked time wise to perfection but was bland and didn't have any real flavour. The beef was similar; very soft and fell to pieces beautifully but then didn't have any flavour to it. We fell back on fish and chips and burger and chips for the next 2 evenings and they were fine; just not very 5 star. Service was always slow; positively glacial at times but always friendly.

Onto the positives; we found it very dog friendly and they even set us up a table for breakfast in the atrium each morning. Everyone we met was friendly and always wanted to make sure we were having a good time. The pool was open (even with snow on the ground) and that was beautiful and warm.

On the whole it was a positive experience. We came away refreshed and although I don't feel it was great value for money we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 57 and 58 are either side of a service room and got quite noisy during the day along with having laundry dumped in the corridor
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tngd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenboroughpark2017, Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear tngd,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the team to be so friendly. Of course however, I was sorry to hear that you didn't love the food or service from the Horse Box team. I will ensure that this is shared with them and their manager.

I'm pleased however that you braved a swim in the snow & that your dog was looked after so well.

Kind Regards
Louise Armstrong
Operations Manager
Ellenborough Park Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews