We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Guggle”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Guggle

Enclosed garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed garden
Kitchen Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Enclosed garden
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Shower Room
Lounge
Garden
The Guggle 'Room'
Downstairs double - with ensuite
The Guggle entrance
Lounge Fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
8KateK
East Boldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Guggle”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed at The Guggle for two nights to break up our journey to Polperro in Cornwall. The Guggle is the most amazing, characterful cottage we have ever stayed in. The bedrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, with lovely little touches. The kind owner had even left us milk and Prosecco in the fridge which was a lovely surprise after a fairly long drive. There is a small garden with a table and chairs, and it's fully enclosed so the dog could run around to stretch his legs. Watch your heads if anyone in your family is taller than average, though, as there are several low exposed beams... all part of the Guggle's charm. You will be amazed at the funny little Guggle room, too.
The Guggle is located on a very old street in the beautiful little Cotswolds village of Northleach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiggy1264
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding location and cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed here in March for a long weekend and had an absolutely fabulous time. Four good sized bedrooms with three bathrooms. Well equipped kitchen (tried my hardest to find something missing) cosy log burner in an enormous inglenook low beams in the lounge so watch your head if you're over 6ft 3"!

We loved it and have already booked for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emer78
Wirral, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage, lovely location, fabulous stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful cottage in a lovely village. Decorated to a good standard and comfortable. Also in a good location to visit the other areas in the Cotswolds. It didn't have off road parking, but we had 3 cars between us and never struggled to park right outside.

A few reasons for not giving 5 stars are, the kitchen table was far too big. We understood that they were trying to cater for the amount of people that can stay at the cottage, but it just took up too much room and made it difficult to get around the kitchen. Secondly, we had to boil water on the hob for tea/coffee. It might sound minor, but when there are so many people and kids involved, it's much quicker and easier to boil a kettle. Finally, as lovely as it was, the fireplace was very dangerous when you've little ones.
Despite these things we would recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhonaB186
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Girls on Tour”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just home from a fabulous long weekend in the Guggle. Fantastic cottage , everything we needed for our girlie retreat !! Lots of walking , eating , drinking and laughing ... Weather was also first class so all in all a great time had by all .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancheste...
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Needs”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We were 2 couples, our respective son and daughter and their two children (3 and 4 months). This cottage was perfect for our needs with the younger family on the middle floor and the older couples on the ground and top floor. Lovely kitchen and lounge with the star attraction being the fire. The 3 year old loved it although understood that she was not allowed too near it! The narrow winding stairs could have been an issue but again the 3 year old loved them and was very careful.
Nice village with all you need including the "Wheatsheaf" 200 yards away. We went to Bourton on the Water and the Daylesford for lunch.
Since we wanted to spend time together we didn't want to cook so thought about a takeaway then Emma told us about Bex who will cater for you. Well the two meals we had from her were excellent and very reasonable so don't even think about a takeaway! Her winter salad was so exceptional that I asked her for the recipe.
All in all a lovely birthday weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing