We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, great location”

Review of Welcome Cottage

Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Welcome Cottage Garden with patio dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Sitting room Welcome Cottage
Welcome Cottage
Garden with patio dining
View of garden
Conservatory from garden
Conservatory seating 12
Sunny conservatory
Sitting room with fire
Sitting room
Sitting room with tv
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen with range cooker
Family room with fire and large tv
View of family room
Dining for 12
Dining room with inglenook fireplace
Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Ensuite shower
Front door Welcome Cottage
View from parking area
Steps to parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vickim556
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect venue for a reunion of old friends. Thoughtfully furnished and equipped, the cottage was warm and cosy on a freezing cold weekend. The bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely. We only used the conservatory in the middle of the day when the sun was warming it but imagine it would be well used in the summer, it is a lovely space. The sitting rooms are not huge but there is plenty of seating. We loved the location in the centre of the village though lots of restaurants seemed to be closed for January. Great walks in the area. Thanks Margaret and David, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for giving us a lovely review.We greatly appreciate your words and your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D
Gosport
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Memorable family get-together”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We came to Welcome Cottage for a 65th birthday with family from around the country. We all felt at home in its splendour and luxury. All bedrooms were nice sized and comfortable. Kitchen was large and well equipped, we managed to cook several fabulous meals. Conservatory was bright and modern, lots of space for everyone to relax. The lounges were snug and cosy. We were lucky with the weather so were able to take advantage of the village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Sincere thanks for your lovely comments about the cottage. We are delighted that you were happy there and had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas at Welcome Cottage”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful Christmas at Welcome Cottage, with all our children and grandchildren. It is spacious and very comfortable, and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The location is perfect, just two minutes walk into Bourton centre. The cottage is so suitable for a big family like ours, with plenty of space to all be together, or to chill out somewhere on your own! (Important for grandparents!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
We greatly appreciate your lovely comments about Welcome Cottage and sincerely thank you for taking time to write a review. Hope you will come back on some occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New year to remember”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

4 couples stayed for New Year at Welcome Cottage, it exceeded our expectations, we had read the reviews of post it notes and not enough kitchen utensils and because we were cooking a New Years dinner had brought serving dishes carving knives etc, No need,the cottage is exceptionally well equipped, we wanted for nothing the cottage had even been decorated for Christmas which was lovely, notes around the house are for the benefit of the guest, how to use the fires/ heating/ recycling.
Would not hesitate to recommend .

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Your warm words are valued and we also thank the others in your party who sent us a very complimentary text. We appreciate your clarifying for future guests that the notices referred to in a previous review are mainly to facilitate the easy operation of ovens, microwaves, washer, dryer, tvs, dvd players, fires, etc. and to clarify rubbish disposal. We are pleased too that you found the kitchen to be perfectly well-equipped to host your New Year's celebration. If anything is ever found wanting in that respect a call to us or the caretaker will always be responded to immediately. We would love to welcome you back to the cottage at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie_H...
1 review
“Fantastic stay in a beautiful house!”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is now our second visit to Bourton on the Water and it certainly didn't disappoint! Welcome Cottage is an absolute delight, can not fault it. The house is in a perfect location, very short walk from the local shops, pubs and restaurants. Thank you David & Margaret for yet another lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
We very much appreciate your kind words. Thank you sincerely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$269
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing