We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family get-together”

Review of Robins Nest

Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
slhguys
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful family get-together”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What can we say? Margaret and David were incredibly gracious and patient regarding our payment issues and challenges with our overseas wire! We sincerely appreciated their understanding. As for the house, the photographs do not do it justice - it was spacious enough for our party of 9, but also incredibly cozy after long days out in the cold! We were initially concerned regarding 'feeding the meter' as, coming from overseas, we do not have a stash of one pound coins! However, family members brought plenty, and even though we had the radiators on high (Texas has made us soft!), the electricity meter did not have to be fed too much at all. Loved the kitchen and dining room. Very comfortable, lovely location, we were extremely pleased with it. Thanks again to Margaret and David - hope you enjoy the addition to your robin collection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and comfort of the house
Liked least: Nothing - everything was as advertised
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
We very much appreciate your taking time to send in these lovely comments about Robins Nest. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time there. Thank you for your business and also the sweet Robin that you so kindly left for us.
(Hope you don't mind if we clarify for future guests that the heating is included and not dependent on the meter - hence why you did not have to feed it very much!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
We do appreciate your kind comments about the cottage. Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean T
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, homely and central”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Robins Nest was all we could have wished. The layout meant that our son & his family had the upper floor with their own bathroom, my single son had a downstairs room with the shower room & we had the other downstairs room with a small en- suite toilet & basin.
The kitchen was adequately equipped, the dining room & lounge perfect.
The garden was super for our little grandson to play safely. We could easily take the 5 minute walk into Bourton where there were so many restaurants & cafés to choose from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general ambience & situation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Many thanks for submitting such a nice review. We are very pleased that you liked it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSto...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovley house and location”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I am one of the party of 9 that stayed in robins nest at the beginning of June. I can confirm that ALL 9 of us agreed that the house was dirty and seating area not equipped for 10 people as stated. Also as we left the cleaner was waiting so the owner was NOT the next person in after us. If the house was clean it was because we had to clean it.For example,as we sat for our first evening meal we lifted the table mats only to be greeted by a weeks worth of food left by previous visitors. The microwave had food spilt all over it ( not just finger prints ) and there was a film thick greasy dust all over the house. The living area was disappointing as it only seated 5 people. There was no battery in the smoke alarm.
The house itself and location is beautiful. There was a small area out the front to sit in but only had a few plastic chairs two of which were broken. We often spend the weekend away as a
group and although this was in a beautiful location it was by far the dirtiest. We still had a great time and there is a lovely town with great shops and a pub within walking distance. I'm sure it would be a beautiful house if these issues were addressed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
We can only apologise sincerely once again to your group who were disappointed with the cottage and have already submitted one review to that effect. The day of your arrival there had been a substitute cleaner doing the preparation rather than our regular caretaker. There are 3 smoke/carbon monoxide alarms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy level walk into the centre of the village
Liked least: One or two bedrooms could perhaps have had more storage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you for very kindly submitting a lovely review of Robins Nest and we are pleased with your feedback comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing