We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ockman Cottage

Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfy king size bed
Time to get ready for a night out....
Comfy double size bed
Beautiful large mirrors
Sweets from 'Sweet Shop Tony' on the High Street
Modern fitted bathroom
Enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard
Ockman Cottage awaits your arrival
Come and Enjoy Rye....
Ypres Tower and Gun Gardens
Ypres Tower
Landgate Arch the entrance to the citadel of Rye
Beautiful sky at Pett Level
Sea shells by the sea shore.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Myhonesto...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My second visit with friends to this wonderfully positioned, comfortable and well appointed cottage in the heart of Rye. There is so much in a walking distance to explore and enjoy...architecture, history, nature, views, numerous exciting and quality places to eat and drink, peruse and shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
It is always a pleasure to welcome back guests for a second time. With Ockman Cottage being so centrally located it is only a few minutes from all that Rye has to offer......there is something for everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmB2208
Ventnor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage , great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I visited together with my sisters. We had a great time. Jilly provided a generous welcome basket, and the cottage was spotless. It is a perfect central location in the heart of the old town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
We were so pleased you and your sisters enjoyed our Welcome Basket we feel it is so important to settle in and be able to have some refreshment be it tea, coffee and biscuits or a glass of wine. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr and Mrs”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautifully appointed cottage, had everything we needed. Beds very comfortable. Close to everything in the town and lots of info provided. Couldn't fault it! Would love to stay again and we will!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
We are always so pleased when our guests take the time to review our cottage and we will always look forward to welcoming them back.
"Couldn't fault it!"......a perfect comment. Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage in the perfect the location.”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I recently stayed at Ockman Cottage with my grandmother and sister, and everyone loved the place. Welcoming and cosy, the cottage was beautiful and more spacious than I expected. With lovely decor throughout it was very clean and the beds were super comfortable. Conveniently located right in the heart of the town, everything was a short walk away. Jilly was very accommodating, flexible and helpful, ensuring our trip ran as smoothly as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property and its wonderful location
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for such a positive review we were so pleased you and your guests enjoyed the location of our cottage in the heart of ️Rye. It is very important to us that our guests are comfortable and enjoy our cottage with a great nights sleep at the end if each day.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo P
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Idyllic, indulgent and ideal for any time of year or occasion”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

From booking to arriving home , the owners of this beautiful cottage offer a wonderful service .
The cottage itself is stunning , decorated and furnished to a very high standard really making home from home , in fact better than home!
The owners have thought of everything to make this a stay you won't forget , a wonderful welcome basket of goodies to get you going ,to the little touches of supplying a torch and umbrellas should the weather be unkind , free wifi and a range of reading material to brush up on your local knowledge or choose a restaurant to eat in. The fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine means you can pack light and spend time enjoying Rye .

We spent 4 nights here and despite being in the centre the cottage is quiet and whilst every other part of the country was suffering storms we stay sheltered . Take in a beautiful walk to Camber. If your feeling energetic or just find yourself a comfy seat in the pub and watch the world go by.


Situated in the centre of Rye making everything accessible within a few minutes walk , time to peruse the wonderful array of shops, restaurants and pubs as well as taking in tea or even the cinema without needing the car.

Would definitely recommend this cottage for couples, friends and family and can't wait to revisit .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you for your ️wonderful review......you have said it al!!

Rye should be a place to visit and Ockman Cottage is an excellent central location......hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Again thank you for your very positive comments.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing