We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Find

The ideal place to chill or explore the surrounding area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The ideal place to chill or explore the surrounding area
The brand new well equipped kitchen is the perfect spot to rustle up supper!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The ideal place to chill or explore the surrounding area
The brand new well equipped kitchen is the perfect spot to rustle up supper!
Where next on your travels....?
The comfiest of snoozes awaits you.
Contemporary furnishings complete the look
You will receive a warm and snug welcome at The Find
The light and airy shower room
Roof top views from the top of The Find
If you prefer we can provide fluffy white towels
A tasty hamper to tempt you
The perfect place to unwind....
Vintage reads to browse
Maybe take up a little foraging exclusive with The Find
Foraged finds
The stuff of smugglers and tales of old! The infamous Mermaid Street
Autumn skies over Winchelsea Beach
Deserted unspoilt beaches to explore all year round
Always something to surprise you in the antiques shops of Rye!
The 14th century Ypres Tower just minutes from the Find
The historic Landgate arch is on the door step
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
128cornm
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We've just had a week at The Find and I'm not sure I have ever stayed in more thoughtfully appointed self catering accommodation. Everything had been provided down to the last detail. The cottage was spotless when we arrived and there were a few provisions left to get us started. There was lots of information about the area available in the cottage too. The location is very central in Rye so it was very easy to bob out for a meal out or to buy food to eat in (we especially liked the salads from Rye Deli). No need to worry about the parking as there's one hour parking on the doorstep for unloading or loading and the overnight car park is 3 minutes walk away. Lots to do in the surrounding area and we were lucky enough to have some decent weather too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our accommodation. We are so pleased you had such a good time. We do our best to ensure that The Find is scrupulously clean for our guests. Parking is pretty straightforward and very reasonable in Rye. I'm so pleased that you found Rye Deli which is an Aladdin's cave for foodies! There is nothing cosier than taking some Rye deli's treats back to the comfort at The Find.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew N
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to spend your honeymoon”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I booked ten days at The Find as a surprise honeymoon destination for my wife and I. I wanted a place to relax and use as a base to explore Rye from but The Find turned out to be so much more. We were welcomed by some fresh food and drink and the lovely cottage itself. The Find was very clean and extremely welcoming and homely. We settled in instantly. There were all the amenitites that we needed and even a wireless speaker so we could play music. The place was really nicely decortated and very comfortable so we never felt guilty about having a night in. The information book which was provided had a whole range of recommendations for places to eat and things to do and Lesley had left us a few maps and walks for us which proved very useful. Lesley was extremely helpful during our stay and was able to get us a fan when we asked. The Find is nicely hidden away and very private which made sitting out in the garden for meals even nicer. The Find is near the train station and less than five minutes from the centre of Rye, so is a perfect base for exploring.

Rye itself is a lovely place. Small enough that we didn't need a car but packed with so many interesting things that we never found ourselves bored. Rye is full of history; from old pubs, cobbled streets, quiant tea-rooms, tiny bookshops to a castle or two. There were loads of places to explore and the view from the church bell tower was spectacular. We vistied many restaurants and pubs and found everyone to be very friendly and helpful. We also rented bikes and rode out to Camber Sands on the lovely nature filled bike route. Overall if you want a peice of English history, a relaxed and interesting holiday, and to eat in some great resturants then Rye is the place to go. And there is no better place to stay than The Find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How peaceful and homely The Find was. The perfect little hiding place.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay for longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you such an amazing review. It's great to know that there is plenty to occupy people in rye itself! Rye nature reserve is such a beautiful and peaceful place and so accessible with the help of bikes or a car, or even a bus. It's great being so close to the station and the very centre of rye is within a minute or twos walking distance. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasch3091...
Isernhagen, Germany
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay - highly recommended”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was the optimal accommodation for our ten days in Rye! We enjoyed our holidays there very much. The Find is a very friendly and comfortable place. It's central but calm and it's both cosy and clean. Lesley's welcome package was very much appreciated and it was very tasty. We are also grateful for her manifold informations concerning activities in Rye and its vicinity.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your warm and positive review. It was absolutely my pleasure to have you all to stay and I am so pleased you found The Find comfortable the information helpful. Although really central we are very fortunate to have a quiet and calm situation in the heart of Rye.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D
1 review
“Charming modern spotless compact house”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Find is a little hidden gem of a house. Tucked away down a small alleyway this compact house has been thoughtfully modernised and features all mod cons. It definitely didn't have a feel of a typical holiday let - more a contemporary home from home - like my London apartment was transported to this lovely village. Spotlessly clean with a welcome pack including much needed essentials this is the perfect house to stay during the bright sunny periods, as its private and only a few minutes walk from the gate entrance to Rye.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thank you so much for the incredible review Michael. I am so pleased you appreciated the attention to detail and the effort that we make in keeping the place lovely and clean for our guests. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth O
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most perfect Find!”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

One of the best holiday cottages I've ever stayed in! Perfectly situated and immaculately decorated, The Find catered for everything you could possibly think of or need. Super soft dressing gowns laid out on each bed, delicious cakes and goodies waiting for us on arrival, this is home away from home (without any of the chores). I'll be visiting again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for the gorgeous review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the extra touches to make your visit special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing