We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect country cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stockhurst - Aspen

Entrance to Stockhurst
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Stockhurst
Aspen - View from the Drive Aspen - View to Garden and Sitting Out Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Entrance to Stockhurst
Aspen - View from the Drive
Aspen - View to Garden and Sitting Out Area
Aspen - Lounge
Aspen - Bedroom
Aspen - Wetroom
Aspen - Kitchen
Aspen - View from Garden to Paddocks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
W00dfam5
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect country cottage”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were very impressed with the standard of accommodation and the welcome provided by Bob and Sally. The cottage was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped. The sunny private garden had plenty of seating and sun loungers. All in all, the perfect country cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A warm welcome from Bob and Sally. Excellent accommodation which had all facilities - and more. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the furnishings and fittings were of a very high standard. Lovely kitchen and bathroom. Sally delivered a basket of goodies which was a very kind and welcome gesture.

The garden is lovely to sit out in with a glass of wine or pot of tea and cake.

Time passed too quickly - looking forward to returning.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A calm relaxed oasis in a chaotic world. Loved it!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

If you need a calm relaxing stay in lovely surroundings then this is for you. The Hosts are very welcoming yet respect your privacy. Rob and Sally have everything covered. It's a perfect base for many lovely days out whether you want castles, lovely beaches, quaint villages or beautiful national trust properties. But it is also the perfect getaway should you just want to stay at the cottage and relax in the garden looking out onto the meadow, perfect for artist, writer, or simply someone in need of a breath of fresh air in beautiful secluded surroundings. Thanks to both Sally and Rob, they have the balance between being there to cater for your every need but happy to let you chill in your own space. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pork_Pie7...
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Countryside Cottage”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just home from a fabulous 3 night stay at Stockhurst - Aspen. Bob and Sally were wonderful hosts, who could not have been more helpful. The cottage is beautiful and has everything you need for a self catering holiday. Very comfortable beds, fully fitted kitchen with washing machine and lovely large lounge and access to lovely garden.
This is a perfect place to stay if you want to explore this part of East Sussex. Rye is only about 6 miles away. You do need a car, as the cottage is situated in a village in the countryside.
Thank you for fabulous accommodation Bob and Sally!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the enviroment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen N
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect hosts, accomodation and setting”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Having just returned from Aspen cottage, I feel compelled to write a review. And I never take the trouble to write reviews for anything. From start to finish, Bob and Sally, the owners, were extremely hospitable and attentive to my every need. I'd told them that I wanted a quiet rural locality in which to work on a writing project and that's what I got. However, on being shown into Aspen, I was taken aback by the size of the cottage. It must be 25 yards long. The lounge is enormous, with a door leading out to the garden. I meditated in the open doorway every morning, with my closed eyes soaking up the sun, a cool breeze brushing my cheeks and the birds singing for my ears only-Perfect. The rest of the cottage also far exceeded my expectation. It really needs to be seen to be believed. The village of Beckley is extremely quiet, so a car would be helpful for those wishing to explore. However, I can find no criticisms of the setting, of Aspen or of Bob and Sally. The only regret I have is that I didn't book up for 2 weeks!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The week was just perfect.
Liked least: No criticisms whatsoever.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;