We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 579)
Filter reviews
1 580 results
Traveller rating
956
399
143
48
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
956
399
143
48
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steeped in history four poster elizabethan room car park nooks and crannies step back in time venison historic hotel creaky floors open fire ancient building lovely old hotel low beams lots of character poster bed cobbled street birthday treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1 580 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2021

As a loyal northerner I hate to admit that I was pleasantly surprised when having fish and chips that you serve the best chips south of the border! Fish was cooked to perfection and the minted mushy peas were BANGING! The slice of lemon added the perfect zesty addition to this already perfect meal! Will definitely be back, see you soon! Eat out to help out (not my waistline)

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank EmilyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the Head Chefs and their team.

We wish you and your waistline well........and look forward to welcoming you again to The Mermaid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2021 via mobile

Went for lunch and the food, which was a ploughman’s was great. They have 65 different types of gin. Great staff very helpful. The fireplace inside is amazing. They are also hotel so would be a great place to stay and explore Rye. We will be back

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2021

Thank you for your review. We will share your praise with the staff. We are glad you enjoyed the experience of drinks and food on the walled patio area. We do hope you may return so that you can experience the 600 years of history of The Mermaid Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021

Stopped by on the off chance late Saturday afternoon and bubbly staff found us a table in the sun. We had the best fish and chips ever....home made tartare sauce was amazing, the mint mushy peas were a delight and the fish chunky with light batter. And for once no chunky chips. Whole experience was wonderful.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the teams, Front of House and the Head Chefs. We hope we may welcome you again when we can welcome you to explore The Mermaid Inn and it’s history.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020

The staff at the Mermaid Inn are wonderful, we received a lovely warm welcome, which set the scene for our stay. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. We had dinner in the restaurant, the food was superb, beautifully presented and tasted amazing, service was excellent. The Giants' Fireplace Bar was the perfect setting for a Mermaid gin. We had a fantastic stay and will definitely return.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catherineb0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

Thank you for your review. We will share your fulsome praise with the staff, especially in times like this.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future, when The Mermaid Gin will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

We have moved this booking a few times recently but decided to go this week. The hotel was a delight, staff wonderful, rooms charming, food delicious. We felt very safe with all the COVID measures in place at the hotel.

Rye is a great place, plenty of interesting shops and very easy to walk around and take in all the sights. We went to Rye Harbour Village on the way home and that too is delightful. We had a walk to the sea and back and coffee by the lifeboat station.

We will definitely visit Rye and The Mermaid Inn again but will wait until safer times.

Room tip: They all appear unique so difficult to specify
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 53Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin Blincow, Guest Services / Front Office at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

Thank you for your review. We will share your praise with the staff.

The Mermaid and Rye are both unique. There is so much space to explore, and be safe, and to escape and relax.

We look forward to welcoming you in safer times. Stay Safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews