We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$124
View deal
eDreamsUS$124
TripadvisorUS$124
Lol.travel
PricelineUS$124
Agoda.comUS$123
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 045)
Filter reviews
1 045 results
Traveller rating
666
280
82
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
666
280
82
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit cobbled streets lovely hotel the main hotel camber castle cosy bar full english lovely town junior suite four poster bed scallops cooked breakfast enjoyable stay an evening meal one night stay mermaid street breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 045 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

Booked a night away as a little treat after a strange few months. Decided to upgrade to a suite having seen the pictures on the web site.

Was a little disappointed when we were shown into our room as it was not like the pictures or what I was expecting. It was a nice room with a four poster bed and a couple of arm chairs in a small area opposite the bathroom !!! Personally I would not have classed it as a suite.

We knew there was no breakfast as such and what we had was very nice and certainly a good selection.

We enjoyed our stay and would come back but probably not pay the extra money for a room that was not up to expectations

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nbc928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Highfield, General Manager at The Hope Anchor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Thank you so much for your review which we really appreciate. We advertise the room you stayed in as a suite as it has a separate seating area, two televisions a fridge and a four poster bed. I am not sure what else you would expect in respect of a suite. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have two suites and they are very different so maybe the suite you chose was not the one you were looking at online. We are upset that you were disappointed as we pride ourselves on guests having a lovely experience did you mention to reception that you were disappointed with the room? Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

Again this fantastic hotel and staff were superb. We brought our doghies loved the biscuits in the bowls! We diden't want to come home and our son loved it. It really is home from home xx They very provided a parking permit aswell ehich gave us great piece of mind. A lovely continental breakfast was wonderful.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 937jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Highfield, General Manager at The Hope Anchor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast, we are a small family run hotel and are delighted you felt so comfortable during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel recently with our two friends for two nights following our trip to Portugal being cancelled. We were made to feel most welcome by Sheena at reception who appeared to be running the hotel . She showed us to our room which was great ,lovely views and very well appointed. Before going out for dinner we had drinks in the cosy bar and Sheena took our orders for breakfast next morning which we had in a small dining area. No full breakfast at the moment but nevertheless what we had was most enjoyable. Rye is a lovely town and we found two restaurants for dinner where we had lovely food .
We had a most enjoyable stay here and certainly one day we will return , as whilst the hotel has been very careful to keep everyone safe we still enjoyed a great visit . Many thanks to Sheena and all at the Hope and Anchor.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank daphnewarrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Highfield, General Manager at The Hope Anchor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Thank you for your lovely review and we passed on your lovely comments to Shenna and it made her day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

Have said for years that we would stay over in Rye and The Hope Anchor has been ideal. Staff are friendly and welcoming, a real home feel to the place. Lovely view's, comfortable rooms, Covid precautions in place, breakfast delivered to room. Lovely to sit outside in the evening, a great location and I am sure we will be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Q3715MFsarahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Highfield, General Manager at The Hope Anchor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review which means a lot especially the fact you recognized the homely feeling that we work hard to achieve, are staff are natural people persons and creating a warm friendly ambience is a priority especially in these very difficult times. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

This hotel is located in a picturesque part of Rye, with cobbled streets and the famous Mermaid Inn nearby. Pleasant view of the harbour from our room, and a few outside tables which were pleasant to sit at with a drink from the bar in the cool of the evening during a spell of hot weather. (Restaurant closed at present.)
Adequate cold breakfast served to rooms. Some choice given, so a slip needs filling in the night before. Top tip, watch to see if the staff member it's handed to does something with it, and doesn't just leave it at reception so that next morning you have to go downstairs and ask what has happened to your order!
Apologies and breakfast bags were swiftly issued, and fortunately we were not in a hurry.
Parking outside is limited
and when we were there, shared with contractors. If you can squeeze into one of the few spots, a badge from reception is needed to avoid a fine. We think that the hotel should be more honest about the fact that guests may well have to drop bags off before parking in town and walking back up a hill.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank hammarskjold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Highfield, General Manager at The Hope Anchor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you for your review I can only apologise for the problems with your breakfast and I am glad you were not in a hurry and we were able to sort it. We do not charge for parking and it is limited to 12 spaces for which we issue permits. We have never tried to deceive anyone about parking and there is numerous opportunities to contact us to see if there is a space unfortunately we cannot guarantee a parking place as we have no control over the parking situation and it is a problem that is constantly raised. Rye is an old town and parking is a real issue sometimes our guests can park other times it is not possible I am sorry this was an issue for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews