We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friends ”
Review of Tuscan Kitchen Rye

Tuscan Kitchen Rye
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Tuscan Kitchen is an authentic Florentine Osteria in Rye. The style is "Arte Povera" creating a warm and convivial atmosphere true to the traditional Osterie of Florence. Family owned and run Florentine chef Franco offers the best in Tuscan cuisine, dishes simple but rich in flavours, characterised by classic regional recipes and genuine artisan produced ingredients. The basement cellar houses a vast selection of Tuscan wines.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely delicious food! We had a selection of starters - all were extremely good. Main course was even better, the veal chops were huge and succulent and the sauce complimented them perfectly, the potato ravioli with the rabbit was superb and the lamb was good too. Ended the meal of course with pana cotta - beautiful!! Lovely friendly staff, totally authentic food and we’ll definitely return. Would highly recommend

Thank Nik-nik55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Tuscan R, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nik-nik55,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. What more could we ask to achieve. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and I very much hope we will have the pleasure of your return. Kindest regards Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Love the food at this place. Had a lovely evening very varied menu, beautifully cooked and friendly staff. Apparently you can ask the host to just feed you so you don’t have to order off the menu. A lot of people enjoy doing that, but it is not always an option that is available. Depends on how busy they are.

1  Thank Droid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Tuscan R, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Droid007, Thank you very much for your charming review. We are deeply committed to providing a personable and authentic service true to the traditional "Florentine Osterie". We have now made the option "off menu" open to everyone to enjoy and hope we are able to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Went just before new year -the tasting menu was probably the best meal I have eaten in quite a few years! The quality of every item of food was incredible. We felt so privileged to get a table in the first instance -especially as there were to be 7 of us ! The easy going and relaxed charm of the Tuscan makes it in my top 5 restaurants in Europe -

Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Tuscan R, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Michele W,
Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and that we rank amongst your favourite meals and one of your top 5 in Europe - a lovely sentiment and one I will happily share with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Being from Italian blood, the bar is set high for a good Italian restaurant and this restaurant exceeded the highest expectations!
From the moment we tried the olive oil we knew we were in for a treat. Every single plate that we got was presented perfectly and they have managed to put all of those memorable tastes in each dish. Order the sides not because the mains are small, but because they are too tasty to miss out on! The Tiramisu is the best we have ever had so make room for that too.
Such a pleasurable dining experience due to the care and attentiveness of the staff. I have organised the whole family to come back with me next time to appreciate this rare gem of a restaurant!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BritExpat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Tuscan R, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BritExpat, Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased we were able to late sit you and your girlfriend for Sunday lunch.
We work very hard to create a true " Florentine Osteria" and it is rewarding when we get comments like this. Conviviality is at the heart of Tuscan cooking, eating and sharing meals with each other. We are very much looking forward to you dining with all your family true Italian style. A presto, grazie di cuore. Franco and Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

This restaurant has a positive reputation in the area, we hadn't been before and it didn't disappoint, the food is authentically regional Italian fare, the wine list comprehensive and fairly priced. We were here to celebrate a joint birthday with friends, the ambience ensured a lovely evening which was enjoyed by all. The staff were attentive but not overly so, a good balance all in all. We'll certainly repeat the experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Tuscan R, Owner at Tuscan Kitchen Rye, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Geoff37,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your friends in- all the more that you chose to celebrate a joint birthday with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your evening and will return. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We re- open Easter Sunday. Kindest regards Franco and Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuscan Kitchen Rye also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to Tuscan Kitchen Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing