We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Wonderful in Every Way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Door Barns

Blue Door Barns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom The Sailor's House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom
The Sailor's House
The Nook
The Snug, the Blue Door Barns treatment room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barry S
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Truly Wonderful in Every Way”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My Partner treated me to a Wonderful night away, and it was truly amazing in every way, on Arrival got a lovely warm greeting from Emma, and we went into our Cottage for the night, The whole aea is decorated to a very high standard and this is throughout, the cottages are laid out in a truly delightful private courtyard, our compact but Beautiful cottage was the Sailers House, WOW, on entering it is just stunning with Attention to detail all over the place, it has everything you need and much more, from DvD players, hairdryers if needed, lovely Toileries, Large Fluffy towels, wonderful egeyption cotton bedding and coushions and stunning bed spreads, and the Bathroom and shower was excellent, we truly had a wonderful stay sadly it was only 1 night but we will most deff be back, we had a look at the other cottages and they all are presented to a very high standard, and worth every penny, the Nearest pub is 5 minutes drive away, its the Ram, and it is wonderful with a private garden, we had lunch, yummy Burgers, and we got a Taxi back in the evening to have dinner, the taxi was only £7.50, cheap as chips and very handy as we both had a yummy bottle of Pino Noir whilst enjoying our Fish board to share,Yum Yum Yum, you can walk along the Bicycle route it takes about 30 minutes to the pub, Back at our wonderful Cottage, we relaxed for the evening with a good dvd to watch, and it was so very peaceful and very quiet evan though you have other people enjoying the same its so quiet, In the Morning after a great nights sleep on a wonderful and very comfortable bed, we headed for Breakfast, and it was just amazing, we got seated in there Beautifully presented Garden, again with such lovely attention to every detail, white linnen napkins, with condiments served in lovely little plates with Real Butter, and very tasty Fresh Orange and Apple juice, our cooked Breakfast was wonderful and again presented with a loving smile, Emma and Bryony really make you feel like family, and we have to thank them both so very much for letting us enjoy there wonderful and Beautiful cottages, we will be back,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Attention to every Detail
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne D
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like staying with your friends in the country”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Nook for one night, which is beautifully decorated and has one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! The accommodation is set around a cute courtyard which would be lovely on a summer evening. You go into the main house for breakfast and walk into a lovely country kitchen where your breakfast is being cooked. The full english was delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T0niJ0nes
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ultimate boutique B&B, a perfect weekend escape”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Adorable. Charming. Fabulous. And that's just the owners.
My husband and I fell in love with Blue Door Barns as soon as we arrived (and started stealing decorating ideas).
Perfect hosts Emma and Bryony have created a dreamy collection of cottages close to Lewes that offer all the comforts of a city B&B but are nestled in calm and lovely countryside.
As well as pinching style ideas from the impeccably decorated rooms and house (high-end shabby chic, inspired by Emma's love of antiques) we also scribbled down most of the breakfast recipes to recreate at home (seasonal plates of organic deliciousness created by Bryony and inspired by her friends).
You might not want to leave the pretty rooms, but the B&B is perfectly placed for day trips into Lewes and Brighton, antiques fairs at Ardingly and the musical events at Glyndebourne (we'd recommend taking a BDB picnic). And if a day trip sounds like too much effort there is an on-site treatment room where we both enjoyed a blissful massage just moments away from our supersized bed.
We ended the weekend thoroughly chilled and planning our return to this magical bolthole as soon as possible. Blue Door Barns is a truly special place filled with charm and TLC. There's only one problem: you might just want to move in for good.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaja72855
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cute, Charming & Wonderful!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My boyfriend and I came to Blue Door Barns on a Friday evening. We were welcomed immediately by letting ourselves into our own room and then walking around the premises saying hello to Bryony and Emma. The entire setup is idyllic and picturesque. Our room was comfortable, charming and cozy. Breakfast both days was incredible. We had everything from the healthy Granola option, to full English breakfast, and baked eggs. We came and went as we pleased, got information and suggestions of where to go and was really very happy with our entire weekend. I can't wait to come back and for anyone who is looking for a B&B in Lewes, Blue Door Barns is an absolute must! Thank you Bryony and Emma for making our weekend very special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The atmosphere was simply incredible.
Liked least: That I got so full after Breakfast!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Where to begin??? Had the most amazing weekend at Blue door barns, ten of us flew in from various locations to be with my daughter for her "hen" and what a truly wonderful weekend we had, lovely comfortable beds, clean, crisp linens, the rooms are all simply stunning, shabby chic french styling but with a touch of luxury. Sitting around an outside chimney was an added bonus and our hosts could not have done more for us. Fantastic breakfasts too, will be recommending your b&b to friends and family in zurich, france and uk and most certainly be back, thanks for a remarkable stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$674
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing