We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Decor and such a cute little home :)”
other travellers have booked this property
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
candle lit nights by the fire beautiful boutique style french beds super comfy and hotel style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
candle lit nights by the fire
beautiful boutique style french beds super comfy and hotel style
Tennyson's bedroom, fireplaces in every bedroom
The seating area in kitchen opens onto front garden so you can watch the world go by
There is a library in the toilet !
The front door is the your own personal access to apartment the bench to side is where we take break
The bicycles come with the flat, shopping in the old town.
The kitchen is french style, and in shade.
All crockery and utensils provided.
The front garden has a lawn for picnics or you have key to private huge garden
The master bedroom with enormous chateau style gold bed
Bodiam castle is half an hour drive its a fairy tale castle.
This is  the famous cafe on Norman road in St Leonards called the love cafe you cant miss it...
Ambient hallway, second Chakra.
Stony dog guards the front door, the witching stones with holes on the door protect us...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
septemous
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Decor and such a cute little home :)”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We visited some friends who were staying in this lovely house, and we were just charmed by the decor, location and landscape that we thought we'd chime in our review as well!

We are looking forward to our return to the UK and a stay here is on our list!

It's not often these days that you rent out a home and not just a commercialized piece of real estate; and that is what you are getting here. A real piece of life by the sea !

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowerpow...
Kington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Our second visit and as good as we remembered it. Not the place for you if you like holiday chalet villages. As the previous reviewer said, light bulbs need replacing, the cooker knob is broken, somebody has ripped the wallpaper etc, but we are very happy that the owners choose to share their beautiful, comfortable, well located, home at a reasonable price, and really hope that they odd critical review doesn't stop them from doing so, as we can't wait to go back. (Only thing I would advise is checking the postcode before you set off - we were given the wrong one - again!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generosity of the hosts. Space, light, comfort, warmth, wifi, huge bath, huge TV
Liked least: Wrong code to communal garden gate.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate Q
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friend and I had a girls weekend in this beautiful house in St. Leonard's. A stunning house with lots of character, art, movies and books. The open fire was beautiful and the house very comfortable. We really enjoyed the ambiance of the entire setting and will definitely be going back.
The only remark I have is we had trouble finding the keys to enter the property. I would reccomend a better system be put in place. But all in all it was worth it and we had a fabulous time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdcoach
England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shabby chic ... or shabby”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I booked this at short notice. The reviews were good, the price was good. Andre, the owner, seemed a nice guy.
I should have paid more attention to the last ‘senior’ review from jaxvint62. It is accurate – and the property is now more than a year older.
On the plus side, it is an interesting place full of personal possessions – it could be very attractive.
On the negative side – it is the worst maintained, least clean, least suitable as a holiday rental, we have ever used.
We began by being given the wrong postcode in the instructions – so the satnav took us half a mile away but we asked directions and found it.
By 8.20PM I advised Andre by text the cooker was not clean or the bathroom sink (these were glaringly visible), there was part used food in the fridge (inc half a tin of soup) and main bedroom bulb was out (text to request spare, which I replaced).
In the event, the bed in the main bedroom is a lovely bed, with a dreadful mattress. We used the other bedroom, more comfortable bed, and used this bedroom to lay our clothes, as there is no drawer space and the wardrobe which I think was meant for rental use, was full.
The following evening, we turned the cooker on at the wall to discover the main oven was on. When we turned the knob to the off position, the knob dropped off. We did not try to use the main oven again. It is an old cooker.
The next morning I texted Andre to advise him, plus more light bulbs out – including shower, hall and outside the front door (pitch black) – all closed units. He responded by asking if I would go out and buy and replace the bulbs – offering to refund a nights rental. I declined. We showered in twilight and used mobile phone light to approach at night.
The kitchen is under-equipped (inc no ovenware at all). Dining would be interesting if there were more than two people – small table for 2 in kitchen, large dining table in main bedroom (which is very dimly lit). Crockery and cutlery are a limited assortment – which you may find charming?
There is a point at which shabby chic becomes just shabby. Poor maintenance and cleaning becomes grubby. Worrying electrics, curtains hanging down, wallpaper coming off and overgrown garden should not be part of the holiday experience.
I have never posted photos before, but will post as many as possible on this occasion. I was writing the experience off as Andre being too laid back and a guy let down by his cleaner. That was until we met Annie from the flat below as we were leaving – a very unhappy lady. She convinced me he was fully aware of all problems. I went in and took the photos.
If you are going to stay here, you may wish to seek some assurances.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interesting contents, large rooms
Liked least: Poor maintenance. Poor cleaning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
1 review
“feels like an old princess house, very nice and stylish facility”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

this is a very nice place to stay. We really enjoyed our holliday trip.
It feels like you are in an old princess house. You have eyerything you will need for a comfortable cosy time.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing