We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Brighton Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shazza270...
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ONLY STAY HERE IF YOU ARE 22 AND A STUDENT!!!!!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have written many reviews on Trip Advisor- always with a rating of EXCELLENT or GOOD. This is my first ever TERRIBLE and it definitely is terrible with a capital T. This property was advertised as a Delightful Central Brighton home. It was definitely not delightful or central. The property is situated in Lewes Road and is in the heart of bedsit and student accommodation land. It was a £6.00 cab fare to and from the seafront. We were greeted by an entrance full of bird droppings and big plastic containers full of empty beer and wine bottles - that had been there for several weeks. The pictures on the website looked wonderful, clean and very welcoming. The actual REALITY was oh so very different. For £300 for the night we were given a house that had not been cleaned for some weeks. The beds to sleep all seven of us consisted of one double bed and then a front bedroom had another double bed with a single bed and a bed that pulled out from underneath it - when this was done the room became tiny and there was no walking space!! The third bedroom contained a simple mattress on the floor. PLEASE NOTE THAT THE OWNER DID NOT PUT A PICTURE OF THIS ON HER ADVERTISEMENT page. It was advertised as sleeping 10 - goodness knows where the other three people would have slept! The shower in the bathroom trickled out water and the bathroom smelt awful - there was mould on the blind in the bathroom. Luckily there was a co-op over the road so we went and bought baby wipes to use as we thought this would be a far more hygienic option. The noise pollution from the main road was also something the proprietor omitted to mention - a pizza shop which opened until 4 am and a few doors down a kebab shop - again fantastic if you are a student. We informed the owner of our age when we booked this accommodation and as a lady in her fifties she should have done the decent thing and said actually ladies I feel my house may not be for you. We spoke to her on Saturday morning as we had vacated the property at 8 30 am after a very bad night’s sleep. We did mention a refund as we all felt that we had been misold this property. Of course she declined and promptly hung up. PLEASE THINK TWICE BEFORE YOU BOOK THIS PROPERTY!!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
This review and the other two negative reviews left on the same day were all written by the same person and are utterly false. You will see from their review that only after their stay did they insist on a full refund - even though I only live 2 minutes away and would have been happy to help them at any time during their stay. I would refer you to every single other positive review, which accurately describe the house as spotlessly clean and very central. The house is professionally cleaned between each guest. There are recycling boxes outside the house - which will not always be empty, if the recycling has not been collected (however they are collected regularly). Furthermore, there are lots of seagulls in Brighton who will leave bird droppings - although the front steps of the house are scrubbed twice a week. The house is indeed very central (less than 10 minutes walk to the North Lanes), and it is quicker to walk to the pier than get a taxi - as Brighton has a lot of traffic. There is certainly no mattress on the floor - there is a click clack sofa bed in the garden room which is brand new! In fact all of the beds are less than 1 year old. Furthermore, the pull out bed in the front bedroom does not need to restrict access to the room as the room is huge and it can be placed anywhere. The bathroom too is spotlessly clean and certainly does not smell awful. The house is large, comfortable, spotlessly clean and very convenient, with 3 supermarkets in the immediate vicinity and numerous takeaways across the road. Please note that only the front bedroom faces the road - the other 2 bedrooms face the back of the house and suffer no "noise pollution" whatsoever!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take Henry !”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very misleading and disappointing. The house does NOT sleep 9 and all beds were very worn with bed linen that was not fresh ! If you want a good night's sleep DO NOT sleep in the front bed room as the house is on a main road with takeaway restaurants open until the early hours and traffic that seems interminable !! There is only one bathroom and a shower that needs descaling. The house in general smells very musky and all crockery had to be rewashed before having a cuppa. We were celebrating a friend's special birthday so although we enjoyed our stay in Brighton, the not so 'Delightful House' was disappointing.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
I have no idea who this person is, as they most certainly did not book to stay at my house and are obviously attempting to ruin my business by leaving three negative reviews in a row. Their review is a complete fabrication and I would refer you to my many genuine and positive reviews left by real guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the place to stay if you want to sleep”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Babs was a good host, providing us with a good level of communication and information prior to our visit but alas, this property did not meet with my expectations, one toilet/bathroom for 9 guests is really not adequate. Noise pollution was a serious issue if you are one of the 4 people located in the front of house bedroom, which was a struggle to comfortably facilitate 4 people. I would question the general cleanliness of the property, the kitchen radiator was covered in dirt splashes, the front bedroom window blinds were very dusty, which then covered the single bed as I tried to close each wooden slat (as the blind was broken). The location was a £6-10 taxi fare each way to Brighton Pier, it has a bus stop located outside the front door, with buses stopping throughout the night, several shops opposite, with a takeaway Pizza shop open until 4am and the associated noise from its clientele. In my opinion, this property and location is more suitable for students who don't want to sleep.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
This review and the other two negative reviews left on the same day were all written by the same person/group. There is indeed only one bathroom - which is clear from my listing and which a guest would know before booking. The house is on a main road, because it is central - 10 minutes walk from the Lanes. If you stay in a house in central Brighton - you are going to have some level of noise. However, the two rear bedrooms face the garden and have no noise levels at night. The house is spotlessly clean - there may be splashes on the radiator in the kitchen, because it is next to the kitchen bin - although it is cleaned between each guest. The house is extremely popular and so there will be imperfections. All the binds in the house are cleaned on a regular basis although there is one blind where the wooden pole used to close it has been taken or lost by a previous guest, which is currently being replaced. A taxi fare to the pier may indeed cost £5, as it is probably quicker to walk to the pier than get a taxi - due to the traffic in Brighton. My listing states that there is a bus stop a few steps away from the house - it is what makes the house so convenient and central. If you want to stay in central Brighton within walking distance from everything, then this is the house for you. If you want to stay somewhere with no bus stop, shops, takeaways, taxis, noise or anything else, then I would suggest a country break would be more suitable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadamBean...
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Brighton Home”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fantastic stay at this property. It's in a great location, right on the doorstop of local amenities and down the road from central Brighton. The house was clean and comfortable. We were a group of 9 and Babs (the owner) was very laid back, understanding and keen for us to enjoy our stay. There is just one bathroom however we knew that already but perhaps something to consider for a larger group. Would certainly recommend it for its location and good value.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H
2 reviews
“Definitely shall be visiting again!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wonderful house, well looked after. (Bathroom could do with a little bit of work). Babs was a great help and very friendly! Not to far from the beach and the lanes. Opposite coop and Morrisons which was very useful.
It was perfect for what we needed for a one night stay. Beds were ever so comfy, and good size rooms.
Overall would absolutely recommend this holiday rental to anyone!

THANKS BABS

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing