We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
51
90
101
55
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
90
101
55
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheap stay bed room communal areas sea view would stay again kitchenette pier
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Myself and my partner stayed in Brighton for one night on 11th of June. Chose to stay in the West Beach hotel as it was the cheapest we could find.
Might not look much from the outside but we got a very spacious clean room with great views of the sea. A big bathroom and nice kitchenette area. Would definitely go back. Great location.
Just to add... we visited Sandbanks in Bournemouth the next day and stayed in he Haven hotel 4 Star.. which was awful and double the price.

Room tip: Superior double room
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Stayed for one night after missing train back to London. It was the cheapest I could find and one with rooms available, the staff were friendly and helped me get booked in straight away. The room was large with a great bathroom space, it was a simple room with large windows.
The bed was slightly worn and lump, they need to get new pillows since the ones in the room were very flat. During my stay it was very noisy, the walls were thin and you could hear the room next door and people in the corridor. I wish I had paid more for a better hotel so I could have slept better but the staff were very helpful.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mushoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Firstly the location is brilliant, the staff friendly and the price OK. The pictures on booking websites are a bit generous in terms of how modern the hotel is in reality but it is a Victorian seaside building and has clealy not been subject to extensive structural modernisation since it was first built. What it has had is a coat of paint and a bathroom refresh, I suspect both were done on a tight budget as the standard of workmanship is best described as amateur.

Cleanliness was suspect as well, our linen was clean but the room and bathroom could have done with more than the 5 minutes they probably get between residents checking out and in.

Things like curtain hooks missing so the curtains didn't close, something unidentifiable (blood/makeup/ketchup) on the curtains, significant dust around the bedside light fittings, a shower that didn't drain, stained toilet bowl and no headboard on the beds all just contribute to the feel of a hostel rather than a hotel.

In summary you probably get what you pay for, we booked in advance but had our booking been refundable would have checked into the Holiday Inn next door on the day for less money. If you want a nice corporate hotel or a romantic getaway look elsewhere.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank uksurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Nice location, large and clean room,nice view, it's a pity that they don't serve breakfast. Everything was ok, the only negative thing is that a new body cream disappeared from the reception...but ok ...

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dionigiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Visited Brighton for one nights stay, and this place was one of the cheapest hotels available - however that does not mean it was not good.

The room was very large and clean, with a lovely shower room, ironing facilities, small kitchenette, everything you could want from a room.
The location is fantastic right on the sea front close to the lanes and fab restaurants and bars. Yes it’s not the grand hotel, but for a cheap stay it did the job! Would stay again

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank becky1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews